Kurtz Steals Bubba Army Sprint Show


OCALA, Fla. – The Bubba Army Sprint Cars opened up a new era of racing as the powerful 360s were brought out to headline Saturday’s racing card at Bubba Raceway Park.

The inaugural Bubba Army Sprint Car race opened up with heat race winner Greg Leonard leading the first four laps before the other heat race winner, Matt Kurtz, stole the show.

Just three laps later Shawn Cornell and Robbie Smith ended up with torn-up race cars after a wild crash that started when Cornell had problems and collected Smith in the melee. Both drivers were OK.

Kurtz then pulled away and won an easy race despite discovering in victory lane he had a flat tire. Sport Allen finished second in his return to BRP, with Terry Witherspoon, Dennis Misuraca and Mike Tharp completing the top five.

Other race winners at BRP Saturday included Buzzie Reutimann (UMP modifieds), William Edwards (hobby stocks) and Brandon Elwood (thunder stocks).

Previous articleWOO: Silver Dollar Speedway
Next articleAmid Controversy, Vettel Wins In Malaysia
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.