Kurtz Leads Bubba Raceway Winners


OCALA, Fla. – The Bubba Army 360 Sprints headlined Saturday night at Bubba Raceway park with the Scorpion Racing Products UMP DirtCar Open-Wheel Modifieds, Hobby Stocks- who raced for $750, 1-800-ASK GARY Thunder Stocks and the Rent-N-Roll Gladiators taking part as well.

The Scorpion Modifieds kicked the action off and Rich Pratt took the Woodstown Ice and Coal No. 78 right to the front. Pratt, a heat race winner, ran a dominant race and won easily over the other heat winner Bryan Bernhardt and Chuck Gustafson Jr.

In fact, Pratt nearly lapped Gustafson and beat Bernhardt by over 13 seconds. Pratt now has at least one win in each season he’s driven the No. 78. Chris Littrell was the first car 1 lap down in 4th and Jeff Stalnaker, Sr. finished 5th after a 3,000-mile flight earlier in the day.

An always exciting Hobby Stock race got better with $750 on the line and Brian Morgan on point. Hunter Gustafson brought the yellow out on lap three when he spun while battling inside of the top five. Before the yellow flew, however, Devin Walker passed Morgan for the lead.

A 14-lap run was halted when Jerome Dipple spun right in front of the leaders. The final eight were run without a problem and Walker walked away with the cash. Scotty Kay, Jr. played bridesmaid once more while Sean Monoghan, Morgan, and Tommy Hill completed the top five. Hill, Gustafson, and Kay won their respective heat races.

The Bubba Army Sprints embarked on their new mission and Robbie Smith led them into battle. AJ Maddox spun on lap two and brought a caution out; the restart gave Terry Witherspoon and Matt Kurtz a shot at the No. 6S. On lap 17, Kurtz found his way around Smith and began to sail away, but “The Jacksonville Jet” was brought back down to earth when Tanner Witherspoon spun with three to go.

Previous articleBabb Runs Langley Streak To Four
Next articleNo Wing, No Problem For Spithaler
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.