Kurtz Aces Florida Sprint Car Championship


OCALA, Fla. – The Florida State Sprint Car Championship wrapped up tonight with a bang at Bubba Raceway Park.

First up were our Hobby Stocks who would ultimately go 25 laps. The race started off with a wild ride for William Gillam when he barrel-rolled the No. 13 on the backstretch. Gillam was okay but his night was over.

Trevor Gamble would lead from fourth while title fighter Rodney Wright would have to fight from 10th. Trey Isgette, III would bring a caution out with 10-to-go and four laps later Kyle Maynard would do the same. Up front it was Gamble, Wright, and Mike Stalnaker.

Trevor Gamble, though the car started going away, held off Rodney Wright for a massive win in a tight title fight. Mike Stalnaker and Hunter Gustafson solidified their statuses as top 5 drivers and Steve Branton took the No. 2S to 5th.

Scorpion Racing Products Modifieds went 30-laps and started with Chuck Gustafson, Jr. leading lap one over Tyler Clem at the front and Kyle Bronson coming from the back with Rich Pratt. Bronson took the lead on lap three before the yellow flew for Rich Pratt’s spin in turn four.

Jeff Mathews took the lead on lap six just before Bronson spun in turn two to bring the caution out with 23-to-go; Mathews would lead Kent Corbin and Pratt to the stripe. Pratt, however, would spin one lap later allowing Tyler Clem back into the top three.

With just five to go Dalton Lanich spun from 3rd putting Mathews and Bronson 1-2. Kent Corbin would restart 3rd. Jeff Mathews would hold on to win his second race of 2012.

Kyle Bronson finished 2nd after a strong result in Eldora with Kent Corbin, Chuck Gustafson, Jr., and Dalton Lanich in tow.

The final part of the Florida State Sprint Car Championship started with Tyler Godwin up front until he pitted under the lap six caution.

Danny Martin, Jr. would inherit it from there with Matt Kurtz and Collin Cabre in tow. Martin, however, would break on lap 15 giving the lead to Matt Kurtz as the field continued under green.

On lap 20 Kyle Pitts spun out of turn four setting up a restart with Kurtz, Cabre, and Robbie Smith the top three. No one could catch Kurtz as he cruised to his fifth win at Bubba Raceway Park in 2012 and the ring is his. Collin Cabre finished a strong 2nd with Mark Ruel, Jr., Robbie Smith, and AJ Maddox the top five.

The 1-800-ASK GARY Thunder Stocks put on a wild 25-lapper with Bubba Durbin the early leader. On lap four James Sullivan, III lost his left rear wheel and, after Gordon Cade made contact and Joey Durbin stopped near them, saw three cars out in one caution.

On the restart Shane Nichols took the lead from Durbin but lost it 2 laps later. On a lap 14 restart Nichols took the lead back from Durbin for good. Bobby Cox spun with just three-to-go setting up a fight between Nichols, Durbin, and James Erickson.

Nichols would hold on while Durbin ended up with a flat right rear. Brian Mullins finished 2nd, Erickson 3rd, Jonathan Appleby 4th, and Rick Kilbury 5th.