Keith Nosbich Claims Tanner Memorial


GIBSONTON, Fla. – It was the first of the Donnie Tanner Memorial races for the late models at East Bay Raceway Park as they would battle for 50 laps Saturday night.

Defending late-model champion Roger Crouse and Travis Varnadore made up the front row for the feature. When the green waved it was Crouse leading the first lap until the first caution came out on lap two as Dalton Myers spun in turn four. On the restart it was Crouse leading until a hard charging Keith Nosbisch coming from the seventh position took over the top spot on lap three. Josh Peacock had driven up to second position trying to chase down Nosbisch as they begun to battle through lapped traffic.

On lap 14 it was Wallace Peacock collecting the wall in turn one which would end his night. Caution would come out several more times, but it was on lap twenty six when Devin Dixon had drove his way up to second with Jack Nosbisch, Jr. in third. On lap twenty seven, Dave Schmauss went diving to the bottom in turn one battling for a top five position coming in contact with another car which sent him spinning bringing out the caution. On lap thirty it was Al Larson spinning in turn four nearly collecting the leader as both Nosbisch brothers and Dixon were able to avoid contact.

Keith Nosbisch would continue to lead when caution came out on lap thirty five as David Pollen, Jr. lost the left rear axle and wheel ending his night. On lap thirty five it was a single file restart with Keith leading over his brother Jackie with Dixon in third. When the checkered waved on lap 50 it was Keith Nosbisch making it six for six races that he has won going back to the five races he won in 2012.

“Tanner was a good friend and a great racer,” Nosbisch stated in victor ylane.

Nosbisch was all smiles as he thanked his crew and his sponsors with his wife at his side sporting her 02 ring that she put on for good luck.

Finishing in the top five was Jackie Nosbisch Jr., Devin Dixon, Steve Miller and Dave Schmauss.

Other winners Saturday were Dale Pope (limited late models), Brian Danforth (V8 warriors) and John Moore (four-cylinder bombers).

Previous articleHoward Hustles At Grandview
Next articleSheppard Scores At Canandaigua is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.