Hirschman Wins Again, Hossfeld Is World Series King

Matt Hirschman won his third-straight tour-type modified race at New Smyrna Speedway on Friday. (Dick Ayers Photo)

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – Matt Hirschman sped to his third-straight tour-type modified victory in the Richie Evans Memorial 100 Friday at New Smyrna Speedway during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.

While Hirschman was celebrating his third-straight victory, it was Chuck Hossfeld who got to celebrate as the World Series tour-type modified champion. Despite going winless during the World Series, Hossfeld used consistency to secure title, his second during the World Series. His first title came in 2012.

Jimmy Blewett was second in the 100-lap feature, followed by Anthony Nocella, Tommy Catalano and Patrick Emerling. Hossfeld finished seventh in the 20-car field.

Sammy Smith won the 100-lap pro late model feature, allowing him to clinch the pro late model title during the World Series. He drove by Loris Hezemans on the 84th circuit to take the lead for the final time.

Other winners on Friday night at New Smyrna Speedway included Cody Haskins in the Pro Truck division and George Gorham in the sportsman feature.

New Smyrna Speedway will wrap up the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing Saturday with the Orange Blossom 100, which will crown the super late model champion.

The finish:

Matt Hirschman, Jimmy Blewett, Anthony Nocella, Tommy Catalano, Patrick Emerling, David Sapienza, Chuck Hossfeld, Calvin Carroll, Doug Coby, Jimmy Zacharias, Andy Jankowiak, Tyler Rypkema, Dillon Steuer, Jeremy Gerstner, Bobby Measmer Jr., Timmy Solomito, Nikki Carroll, Amy Catalano, Al Amarino, Tom Tonn.