Hirschman Controls Richie Evans Memorial 100


NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – A few days after losing to Anthony Nocella in a heartbreaking finish at New Smyrna Speedway, Matt Hirschman was determined not to let that happen again.

He was in his own league on Friday night, dominating the 100-lap Richie Evans Memorial 100 to close out the week for the tour-type modified division and lock up the division title during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.

He started from the pole and led the opening 53 laps before a caution flag sent Hirschman and most of the leaders to the pits. Only two cars stayed out for the ensuing restart and Hirschman made quick work of them both when racing resumed, regaining the lead and racing unchallenged to the checkered flag.

Tyler Rypkema crossed the line in second, followed by Craig Lutz, Eric Goodale and Eddie McCarthy.

In other action, Jamie Skinner won the 100-lap finale for the pro late model class to lock up that division championship at New Smyrna Speedway. Derek Pugh won the 25-lap pro truck feature.