Hialeah Speedway HoF Inducts New Class


ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, Fla. – The second class of the Hialeah Speedway Hall of Fame was inducted at the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel here Saturday evening before an overflow crowd of more than 350 guests and honorees.

The gathering was a combination reunion and HoF induction for the famed Miami-area speed plant that closed after the 2005 season after 51 years of continuous operation. Encroaching development and a difficult financial situation spelled the end of the last oval track in the greater South Florida area.

The initial HoF induction was at a similar function in 2010 with 11 worthy drivers and one track official gaining the honor. This year’s class saw 15 join the original dozen and they included former track promoter L.N.Dodd, long time Greater Miami Racing Association board member/patron/car owner H.C. Wilcox and board member/driver Hank Pollard.

Also among the new group were veteran drivers Marion Edwards, Sr. and Bruce “Pee Wee” Griffin. They were joined by drivers Pete Willoughby, Randy Tissot, Bobby Henry, Danny Maddox, Joe Winchell and Teddy Barnwell. Car owners Tommy Mottle and Mike McCrary were also among the inductees. Track officials Janet Little and Ernie Reeves, Jr. completed the latest additions to this very select group.

Also recognized were engine builders Rahilly-Grady Racing Engines and Progressive Racing Engines and car builders Hamke Race Cars and Parts with owner Robert Hamke and Performance Unlimited headed up by Marty Handshaw. Both Hamke and Handshaw were 2010 HoF inductees.

Previous articleMcGuinness Enters Classic TT Races
Next articleNOTES: Another Crown Jewel For Larson
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.