Hemric Remains Hot At Charlotte


CONCORD, N.C. — Daniel Hemric continued his hot streak, winning his second race in a row and his third of the season in the Legend Car Pro feature during round four of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Tyler Green started on the pole after the invert, but Hemric quickly jumped to the lead coming out of turn four on lap one, remaining in the point position for all 30 laps while Green held steady in second.

The biggest battle in the race was for third place as drivers Jordan Black, Ryan Shattuck and Justin Swilling stayed nose-to-tail for a majority of the race, racing fiercely for the position. Shattuck crossed the line in third behind Green, followed by Swilling and Black.

The drivers of the Security Force Legend Car Masters division showed no signs of slowing down tonight in round four of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout. In the end, it was John Sossoman taking the checkered flag for the night.

Point leader Rodney Tharp led the field to the green but was soon overtaken by last week’s winner Tom Pistone. Sossoman diced his way through the field, taking positions left and right, working his way up to second. The lead dwindled lap-by-lap until Sossoman finally took the top spot after a tight five-lap battle. Lapped traffic proved to be no trouble for Sossoman, who went on to score his first win of the season.

After 30 laps and no cautions, Pistone took second place followed by Robby Faggart, Jeff Green and Carl Cormier.

Austin Green came through with his first victory in the Bandolero Outlaws division. Green led for most of the feature race after starting in the second spot behind Sprout Royal.

Several drivers, including Hannah Bell and Ashley Caldwell, were involved in a wreck at turns three and four, causing a caution on lap two. However, Green managed to avoid the mix-up and slide away from the pack to take the lead. Green’s lead was not heavily challenged until John Holleman began pushing his way to the front.

Holleman began the race in sixth, but by lap 10 he had entered the third spot. The Bandolero Outlaws point leader came close to taking the lead on the last lap, but Green managed to stay slightly ahead and came out with the win. Holleman took second place with Alex Reece taking third. Dylan Smith and Jacob Brumagin also made the top five.

WCCB’s Brandon Davidow pulled off the upset over two-time defending winner Al Conklin, from WBTV, taking home the trophy in the Media Mayhem school bus slobberknocker

Other winners included Joe Ryan Osborne in the Legend Car Semi-Pro division; Carson Ferguson in the Legend Car Young Lions division; Cason Werner in the Bandolero Bandits; and Nick McMillan, of Concord, N.C., in the Beginner Bandits.

Zachary Dabbs won the postponed Round Three Bandolero Bandit feature, while Alex Reece won the postponed Bandolero Outlaw feature.