Georgia Racing Hall Names New Inductees


DAWSONVILLE, Ga. – Some of the greatest racers in Georgia Racing History gathered at the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Saturday morning as the five newest inductees into the Hall of Fame were formally announced.

They include a former NASCAR and short track ace, a pioneer Peach State open wheel racer, a trailblazing stock car team owner, one of the most successful short track racers in the southeast, and a drag racing legend and pioneer.

The 2013 inductees are Charles Barrett of Cleveland, Ga., Hank Blalock of Decatur, Ga., Frank Christian of Dahlonega, Ga., Freddy Fryar of Chattanooga, Tenn., and Huston Platt of Buford, Ga.

The five new GRHOF inductees were chosen from a list of 15 semi-finalists, all of whom were honored during Saturday’s event. The inductees were chosen by an 18 member panel of voters.

The 2013 Georgia Racing Hall of Fame Induction banquet will be held on Dec. 13, 2013 at the Georgia Racing Hall of Fame, located inside the Dawsonville Municipal Complex in Dawsonville, Ga.