Double Features Rule VMS


JAMAICA, Va. – After three consecutive rainouts, Virginia Motor Speedway finally had a beautiful night to race as it hosted Virginia Army National Guard “Salute to the Fallen” Tribute Night to a very large and enthusiastic crowd.

All divisions competed in twin events.

Feature event winners for the night included Justin Williams and Walker Arthur in Victory Lap Late Models; Daniel Baggerly swept both events in Fastrak Pro Late Models; Brett Adkins and Hunter Shelton in Truckin Thunder Sportsman; Bret Hamilton and Matt Quade in Budweiser Modifieds and Brian Maxey and Wesley Givens in Collision One Limited Stocks.

In the first feature for the Victory Lap Late Models / Fastrak Pro Late Models Justin Williams grabbed the lead right off the green flag. The racing behind Williams was intense for second on back but no one had anything for Williams as he cruised to his second victory of the season. Billy Tucker, Walker Arthur, Troy Williams and John Staton rounded out the top five.

The second Victory Lap Late Model feature was a bit different. Scott Adams and John Staton led the field to green with Adams taking control out of turn two. It looked as if Admas was set on cruise control but Walker Arthur had a differ idea. Arthur worked his way to second by lap six and caught Adams as the two raced into turn 1. Arthur dove under Adams and completed a text book slide job to take over the top spot. Once out front Arthur cruised to the win while the rest of the field battled for position. Troy Williams, Justin Williams, Darryl Hills and Scott Adams rounded out the top five.

The first Budweiser Modified feature was a barn burner. Bret Hamilton and Brian Dobie led the 19 car field to green with Hamilton leading the first circuit. By lap three Matt Quade was to the inside of Hamilton for the lead. The tow raced that way for much of the first 10 laps of the 15 lap affair. Each time Quade tried to take the lead Hamilton had an answer. Qaude tried one last time in turn two on the final lap but Hamilton had enough to take the win. Matt Quade, Jimmy Duncan, Josh Harris, Michael Reynolds rounded out the top five.

In the second Budweiser Modified feature Josh Harris led the first eleven laps with a five car battle for second behind him. On lap 11 Matt Quade went outside of Harris out of turn four to take the lead by inches. Once out front Qaude went on to the win with Harris, Francis Jarrelle, Bret Hamilton and Michael Reynolds rounding out the top five.

Brett Adkins dominated the first feature of the night for the Truckin Thunder Sportsman. Troy Doggett led the first two laps before giving up the lead to Junior Carter. Carter led till Adkins swept to his outside on lap four to take the lead. Once out front Adkins cruised to the win. Junior Carter, Davey Pullen, Hunter Shelton and Troy Doggett rounded out the top five.

In the second feature for the Truckin Thunder Sportsman the forst lap quickly went three wide with Macy Causey, Junior Carter and Hunter Shelton. Once the dust settled Shelton emerged with the lead and once out front never looked back as he went on to score the win. Brett Adkins, Davey Pullen, Troy Doggett and Macy Causey rounded out the top five.

Brian Maxey emerged the winner in the caution filled first feature for the Collision One Limited Stock Cars. Ryan Hutchens, Brian Bradley, Shawn Otey and Travis Hopkins rounded out the top five.

In the second feature for the Collision One Limited Stock Cars is was not good to be the leader but it also provide the best finish of the night. Shawn Otey grabbed the lead on the drop of the green but would surrender the top spot on lap eight when he spun in turn two. That handed the lead to David Bowler who paced the field for a lap before hitting the turn two wall ending his night.

That gave the lead to Brian Maxey who looked to have the race locked up until the final two laps when Wesley Givens, in a borrowed car, closed in on the leader. Heading into turn three for the final time Givens dove it in deep under Maxey and when the two raced off of turn four it was Givens by a few feet at the line to get the win. Maxey, Travis Hopkins, Rick Powers, Lucas Ward rounded out the top five.