Crouse Stars At East Bay


GIBSONTON, Fla. — Roger Crouse came close the last time the Gagel’s Auto Parts Open Wheel Modifieds visited East Bay Raceway Park.


He watched from second as 2010 division champion Austin Sanders opened the year with a win, but Saturday night Crouse led the field home at the third-mile oval and won at the track for the 27th consecutive season dating back to 1984.


Crouse praised his crew and pointed out the car was for sale as a new one is being built for him and competitor Mickey Wright. Crouse’s win deadlocks the division points in the early stage since he and Sanders now each possess a first and second.


Kevin Bryant rebounded from an early race spin to claim third, with Thomas Pratt and Alex Boerner completing the top five.


Tim Gay won the limited late model feature, adding to his street stock victory at the track earlier this season. J.R. Rather, Jr. finished second with Shane Koperda third.


Jeff Rodgers won the street stock feature and Roberto Morfin, Sr. took the four-cylinder bomber event.



Previous articleF-1: Australian Grand Prix
Next articleMorris Reigns At South Boston is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.