Bronson Grabs Wiggins Memorial

Kyle Bronson claimed the P.J. Wiggins Memorial for modifieds at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla., Saturday. (R.E. Wing Photo)
Kyle Bronson claimed the P.J. Wiggins Memorial for modifieds at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla., Saturday. (R.E. Wing Photo)

OCALA, Fla. – The Scorpion Racing Products Modifieds put on a 40-lap show in honor of the fallen P.J. Wiggins Saturday night at Bubba Raceway Park.

Alongside them were the Buddy’s Home Furnishings Limited Late Models, Hobby Stocks, 1-800-ASK GARY Thunder Stocks, and the Barfield Law Group Mini Stocks.

The first order of business was our Buddy’s Home Furnishings Limited Late Models 20 lap feature. A few cautions slowed action early on but Forrest Gough was fast enough to lead Carter Stokes and J.O. Nobles with 18 to go.

Under a lap-three caution Carter Stokes’ right rear went flat dropping him outside of the top five, an unfortunate circumstance for driver No. 33.

On lap five David Showers had troubles which cost him a top three spot and he would retire from the race moments later.

David Ponder climbed the back stretch wall on lap seven which brought the caution out again; fortunately Ponder was OK after his wild ride.

Under caution Forrest Gough broke the rear-end in a heartbreaker for the driver who has had more bad luck than any one else in recent memory. Nobles, Waylon Haynes, and Christian McGillivray were the top three.

The last seven laps went green with Nobles the winner over Haynes. Christian McGillivray finished a solid 3rd while David Showers, Jr. and Ricky Land completed the top five.

Next were our Barfield Law Group Mini Stocks with a tough task to follow. Jesse Foster would lead early on from outside pole before Buddy Pope spun in turn two on lap one.

Travis Staats stole the lead on the restart and began to pull away until Reid Christensen spun on lap five. With 10 to go it was Travis up front with Nick Kerr and Charlie Staats the top three.

With three to go Reid Christensen spun while Joel Price did the same elsewhere- up front it was still Travis and Kerr but Buddy Pope was now third. Travis Staats took No. 2 of the year with Nick Kerr, Jesse Foster, Buddy Pope, and Charlie Staats the top five.

A 40-lapper was the P.J. Wiggins Memorial for the Scorpion Racing Products Modifieds with honorary starters Kyle and Autumn Wiggins, the children of P.J. Wiggins. Wayne Hammond’s race didn’t even get to start as he broke the right-front suspension on the back stretch immediately after the green flag fell.

On lap eight Garret Stewart spun from a solid top 10 spot while Kyle Bronson, Jeff Mathews, and Rich Pratt led the way with 32 to go.

As the race progressed, David Reutimann climbed into third and stalked Bronson and Mathews from a comfortable spot. On lap 19 Jeff Mathews slowed costing him the second spot as he had a right rear flat and more as he retired from the race because of it.

On lap 28 Tim Powers had a tire go flat which would put the Reutimanns (David over Buzzie) right on Bronson’s tail on a restart. With just two to go Bubba Christian broke while in 8th before 10th place Jason Intoppa ran into him at nearly full throttle- both were okay.

Adding to the story was that Kyle Bronson was involved but it appeared the 40B had no damage. Bronson held on over the last two laps with David and Buzzie Reutimann second and third, respectively. Devin Dixon and Rich Pratt completed the top five.

Hobby Stocks set a beautiful pace but Trevor Gamble didn’t allow any one else to set it as he dominated en route to a victory – his first since May. Rodney Wright had a dismal night as Gamble led Kevin Durden, Tim Powers, Mike Stalnaker, and Brian Hansford across the stripe.

The 1-800-ASK GARY Thunder Stocks completed the night with an intense 15-lapper. Melvin Fockler spun on lap one while Brian Mullins led the first few laps.

Shane Nichols passed Mullins around the half-way mark before a few late race cautions bunched the field up. Nichols held on with a gaggle of cars fighting for 2nd. The official top-5 order was Nichols, William Gillam, Jonathan Appleby, Mullins, and James Sullivan, III.