Bronson Claims East Bay Feature


TAMPA, Fla. – It looked as if Mother Nature would spoil yet another night of racing, but after a two-hour rain delay, the crowd would see six divisions as the USA Firecracker 50 for the Donnie Tanner Memorial Series Race No. 2 would try its third attempt to get the race in after two previous rain dates.

Also racing were the Limited Late Models, V8 Warriors, Q Auto & Injury Attorneys Street Stocks, Outlaw Fours and the 4 Cylinder Bombers.

Winning heats for the 50-lap Late Model feature were Phillip Cobb, Josh Peacock and Dalton Myers.

For the front row of the feature it would be NASCAR Nationwide Series driver Scott Lagasse Jr. and Dalton Myers taking the green flag. Lagasse took the early lead only to have a caution as Dalton Myers spun in turn two. Lagasse Jr. took the lead again until Doug Horton would take over the top spot on lap two. Horton was making his way through the field very quickly as he began to come upon lap traffic by lap five. But on lap five Shan Smith spun in turn four. Several more cautions would come out as Kyle Bronson had made his way up to second by lap seven getting by Lagasse Jr.

It was on lap 32 when Phillip Cobb took the lead away from Horton but was penalized for jumping the start. Horton had slowed and come to rest on the track after running in the third spot ending his night. After the penalty for Cobb it put Kyle Bronson as the new leader on the restart on lap 36.

With just five laps remaining second place Phillip Cobb’s night came to an end as he stopped in turn two. When the final green waved it was Bronson going on to Victory Lane picking up the $2,000 payday. Rounding out the top five were Josh Peacock, David Pollen Jr., Jamie Slatton and David Schmauss.

The finish:

Kyle Bronson; Josh Peacock; David Pollen Jr.;  Jamie Slatton; David Schmauss;  Roger Crouse; Kyle Musselman; Shan Smith;  Megan Meyer; Mavrick Varnadore; Phillip Cobb; Wallace Peacock; Doug Horton; Marshall Austin; Scott Lagasse, Jr.; Jimmy Waldrop; Dalton Myers; Bryan Bernhardt; Travis Varnadore; Keith Nosbisch; Danny Fogal