Boyd Secures East Bay Crown


GIBSONTON, Fla. — It was the final points night of the East Bay Sprints with Billy Boyd Jr. holding a narrow point lead over defending champion Kerry Gilbert.

Boyd took the lead at the start of the feature and held off the challenges of David Steele to win for the fourth time in five races at the third-mile dirt track this season. The victory cemented the track championship.

Steele finished second with Frank Beck, Kerry Gilbert and Kyle Pitts completing the top five.

Jack Nosbisch Jr. outran Doug Horton to win the 25-lap late model feature.

Jeff Weaver won the warrior feature, Billy Howard topped the outlaw fours and John Moore won the four-cylinder bomber race.