Benjamin Rocks Orange Blossom 100


NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. – Kyle Benjamin drove away from the field en route to victory in the 11th annual Pete Orr Orange Blossom 100 Saturday night at New Smyrna Speedway.

Benjamin, who claimed the super-late-model title during the 2012 running of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna, started from the pole after a redraw of the top 10 qualifiers. He led the entire 100-lap distance to pick up his first victory of the 2013 season.

Travis Cope edged Rich Clouser by half a car length to finish second. Fast qualifier and Red-Eye 100 winner Stephen Nasse was fourth ahead of David Rogers in fifth.

Derrick Wood (sportsman), Scott Reeves (pro trucks), Earl Beckner (e-modifieds), Dave Davis (mini stocks) and Maureen Dahm (strictly stocks) also picked up victories Saturday night at New Smyrna.