Battle Of The Nosbisch’s At East Bay


GIBSONTON, Fla. – Five divisions were on hand Saturday as the Late Models, V8 Warriors, Outlaw Fours, 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds were ready for action at East Bay Raceway Park.

The first feature of the night went to the V8 Warriors. Winning their heats were Jeff Weaver and Raymond Folwell. Derek Gray and Kevin Cassaday would make up the front row for the feature event. The green flag waved and it was Derek Gray taking the lead on lap one until Raymond Folwell took over on the very next lap. Caution would come out on lap two when Brian Danforth broke and hit the turn four wall ending his night.

The green waved and it was Folwell slowing in turn two with a right rear flat handing the lead over to last week’s feature winner Marco Reyes. On lap four, the defending Champion Jeff Weaver lost a wheel on the front stretch ending his night. Caution would come out again on lap eight as Tracy Maynard also lost a wheel in turn two. On the restart, Reyes was holding of charges from Gray until lap ten when the two made contact in turn four with Gray taking over the top spot and going on to win his first feature on dirt.

Reyes pulled up to Gray in Victory Lane to congratulate him and Gray also said in Victory Lane he apologized for getting into him. Rounding out the top five were Bill Whitney, Marco Reyes, Kevin Cassaday and Janien Dixon.

Next were the Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds. Winning the heat was Terry Bronson and for the feature it was Austin Sanders and Matt Miller on the front row. Sanders led until lap two when the first caution came out for Matter Miller spinning in turn two after he was running in second place. Only one other caution came out as Sanders went on to win his fifth feature of the season. Rounding out the top five were Terry Bronson, Roger Crouse, Matt Miller and Dale Kelley.

Next were the Late Models with seventeen cars ready for the 25 Lap feature event. Winning their heats were Mark Haase and Jack Nosbisch, Jr. and the two would also make up the front row for the feature. When the green waved it was Jack Nosbisch, Jr. taking the early lead with brother Keith right on his back bumper until the first of many cautions came out.

Jack would lead until Keith took over on lap six. Keith would go onto to win his seventh feature dating back to last year when he started in five features winning all five and then starting two this year and winning both. A good battle for the top five continued throughout the race between Mark Haase, Nosbisch Jr., Steve Miller and Josh Peacock. Miller and Nosbisch Jr. would battle for second for the the most part of the race until Miller eventually took over second with Nosbisch Jr. third as Haase and Peacock battled for fourth and fifth with Peacock edging out Haase for fourth with Haase finishing fifth.

“We have had a good car so far this year and we were testing some different things tonight and they seemed to work,” he said chuckling in Victory Lane. “We will be back for the Scott Thompson Memorial on June 15th and hope to have a good night as well.”

Next up were the Outlaw Fours. Winning their heats were Stephen Hohlbaugh and Nick Hebrank and would make up the front row for the feature as well. On the start it was Hohlbaugh taking the lead with Hebrank battling for several laps.

Hebrank took over the lead on lap four by just a half a car length at the line and led for the next four laps until Hohlbaugh took over the lead again on lap eight. Hohlbaugh went on to win his second feature in a row. Rounding out the top five was Zach Amundsen, Nick Hebrank, Brandon Yates and Billy Howard.

The final feature of the night went to the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Winning their heats were Jimmy Baker, John Moore and Brett Calonge. Baker and Moore would make up the front row for the feature. John Moore was looking to make his seventh feature win as he and Baker would battle lap after lap.

Moore would continue to run the high side as Baker’s car would seem to run better on the low side of the track. Baker would battle and finally take over the lead on lap twelve but Moore was not going to give up and continued to battle with Baker. When the checkered waved it was Baker picking up his first win of the 2013 Season with Moore finishing second. Rounding out the top five was Brett Calonge, Patrick Fiore Sr. and Richard Humfeld.