Shultz Storms To Selinsgrove Victory


In the late model feature, third-place starter Chad Davis powered into the early lead over polesitter Dave Zona and second-place starter Tony Adams. By lap three, sixth-place starter Jim Bernheisel advanced to second and began to reel in Davis. On a lap five restart, Bernheisel pressured Davis for the lead and made the winning pass using the high line out of turn four. For the next several laps, Bernheisel set the pace in front of Davis and fifth-place starter Steve Campbell.

By lap 10, 12th-place starter Jeff Rine showed a lot of speed and rocketed into the top five. Two laps later, Rine was racing in the second position. The caution flag unfurled on lap 18 when Davis stopped on the track. On the lap 19 restart, Rine dueled with Bernheisel for the lead lap after lap.

Then, on the final lap, Rine made a last-ditch effort to pull off the win using the inside lane through turns three and four; however, Bernheisel held the momentum around the top of the race track and scored the win by a mere .16 of a second. Rine settled for second while Campbell, eighth-place starter Bryan Bernheisel, and 10th-place starter Dylan Yoder rounded out the top five.

Brad Mitch, who started the pro stock feature in the third position, charged into the lead at the drop of the green flag. Mitch was chased by fifth-place starter AJ Stroup for the entire distance, while sixth-place starter Nathan Long held down the third position. A close battle for fourth unfolded between 12th-place starter Kyle Bachman and eighth-place starter Troy Miller.

On several occasions, Stroup attempted to zero in on Mitch to no avail. At the checkered flag, Mitch was victorious by 2.6 seconds in the non-stop event that was timed in 6 minutes and 17 seconds. Long finished third, followed by Bachman and T. Miller. Third-place starter Dustin Snook led the first lap of the roadrunner race until sixth-place starter Bob Bussey made the winning pass using the inside lane in turn four on the second circuit.

Once Bussey took the front spot, he quickly stretched his lead over Snook. On lap eight, fifth-place starter Brian Johnson advanced to second and attempted to reel in Bussey. At the finish, Bussey posted a convincing victory by 2.5 seconds over Johnson, Snook, Brandon Shultz, and Ray Rothfuss.

Previous articleWitko Collects Fulton Honors
Next articleJacobson Masters Skagit 410 Sprint is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.