Short-Track Round Up: Carrier Pockets $5Gs After O’Neal’s Mistake

Spring In Kentucky: Don O'Neal (71) and Eddie Carrier, Jr., race for the lead during the 35th annul Spring 50 at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky., Saturday night. Carrier went on to win the race. (Bob Sell Photo)

Spring In Kentucky: Don O'Neal (71) and Eddie Carrier, Jr., race for the lead during the 35th annul Spring 50 at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky., Saturday night. Carrier went on to win the race. (Bob Sell Photo)

Florence Speedway

UNION, Ky. — Eddie Carrier, Jr. capitalized on a penalty to race leader Don O’Neal on a lap-29 restart to earn his first victory at Florence Speedway during the 35th annual Spring 50 for late models Saturday night.


O’Neal had control of the race until making a mistake on lap 29 when he jumped the restart. Officials penalized him one position, giving Carrier the lead. He led the final 21 laps for the $5,000 victory.


Scott James wound up second ahead of O’Neal, Rod Conley and Chad Simpson.



Brownstown Speedway

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. — Dillan White drove away from the late-model field at Brownstown Speedway en route to an easy victory Saturday evening.


White started on the pole and beat Tim Rivers into the first turn. Rivers attempted to challenge White early, but White denied his advances and pulled away from the field at the quarter-mile clay oval.


Other winners were Ryan Thomas (modified), Tim Clark (super stock) and Ryan Hehman (hornet).


Indianapolis Speedrome

INDIANAPOLIS — Jack Dossey III and Thomas Skiles made history by becoming the first drivers in Spring Fling history to win three-straight features Saturday at Bryant Heating and Cooling Indianapolis Speedrome.


Dossey continued his domination of the bandolero division after a late-race battle with Dillion Brown ended with Dossey edging ahead at the finish line to win his third-straight feature. Skiles matched Dossey by capturing his third-straight junior faskart triumph.


Other winners included Jack Dossey, Jr. (Legends), Robert Eversole (hornet), Nigel Peters (hornet figure-8), Jeff Johnson (stock) and Gene Dibbern (roadrunner).



East Bay Raceway Park

GIBSONTON, Fla. — Bryan Bernhardt backed up his opening-night victory with his second-straight triumph in the late-model class at East Bay Raceway Park Saturday night.


Much like last week, Bernhardt spent most of the race battling Travis Varnadore. Several caution flags kept the action close, but Bernhardt stopped Varnadore on every restart en route to victory.


Shirlene Hammond (outlaw four), Scotty Williams (limited late model), Jarod Gay (street stock) and Patrick Fiore (four-cylinder bomber) were also winners.


Kingsport Speedway

KINGSPORT, Tenn. — Daniel Pope II went from third to first after a dustup involving the lead cars allowed him to gain the lead en route to victory in Friday’s late-model event at Kingsport Speedway.


Lee Tissot and Nate Monteith were battling for the lead on lap 41 when Tissot sent Monteith spinning. Tissot was sent to the rear of the field for causing the crash, giving the lead to Pope. Pope led the final 19 laps for the triumph.


Chuck Crigger (street stock), Chris Neeley (pure four) and Hayden Woods (Legends) were also winners.



Ocala Speedway

OCALA, Fla. — Mark Whitener cashed in his luck card and pocketed $1,000 for winning the sportsman feature Saturday evening at Ocala Speedway.


In the hobby-stock division, Tim Gay grabbed the early lead and was able to hold it throughout the feature to pocket $1,000 of his own despite a number of crashes that shortened the race to just 12 laps.


Other winners were Casey Feaster (gladiator) and Ray Wheeler (thunder stock).



Hickory Motor Speedway

HICKORY, N.C. — Josh Wright and Grant Wimbish started the 60th anniversary season at Hickory Motor Speedway on the right note by splitting a pair of late-model features at the .363-mile asphalt oval Saturday.


Mark Johnson started second in the limited late-model event and chased Tyler Church throughout the 35-lap feature, finally taking the lead for good on lap 21.


Other winners were Brandon Setzer (super truck), Roger Pitts II (street stock), Chandler Levan (four-cylinder) and Lewis Slagel (hobby stock).



Path Valley Speedway Park

SPRING RUN, Pa. — Gary Guise dominated the 20-lap six-cylinder strictly stock event Saturday night at Path Valley Speedway Park.


Jared Esh took the lead from Tyler Reich on lap two and rolled to victory in the 270 micro sprint-car main.


Other winners were Devin Whitsel (four-cylinder strictly stock), Kevin Thomas (mini stock), Ray Duffy (eight-cylinder strictly stock) and Jeremy Ott (four-cylinder thunder car).


Trail-Way Speedway

HANOVER, Pa. — Eric Bodine started on the pole of the 20-lap 600cc micro sprint-car feature and never looked back as he drove to victory on opening day at Trail-Way Speedway Saturday.


Todd Hoover won the 270cc micro sprint-car feature after Bill Laughman’s entry slowed on lap 12. Ben Murphy dominated the 20-lap 1,000cc sidewinder feature.


Canyon Speedway Park

PEORIA, Ariz. — Jason Noll romped to victory in the IMCA modified feature Saturday at Canyon Speedway Park.


Jeff Stafford (pure-stock), Chuck Thorton (bomber), Dylan Cappello (ASCS2) and Tony Martin (southwest modlite) also visited victory lane.



Las Vegas Motor Speedway

LAS VEGAS — Cole Cabrera and Robert Ewing split a pair of 40-lap super-late-model features during opening night at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Saturday.


Vinny Raucci survived a four-car crash on lap two and overtook James Wingard to win the 30-lap charger feature.


Pete Meyer (bomber), Chris Trickle (bandolero bandit), Austin Morris (bandolero outlaw) and Kyle Weatherman (Legends) also won features.