Selinsgrove To Host ’16 Appalachian Finale


SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Selinsgrove Speedway will host the 2016 finale to the Eighth Annual Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek Series on Sunday, June 12, according to an announcement today by series co-promoters Kurt Smith and Jason Clapper of Mechanicsburg.

The series finale will feature the super late models in a 40-lap main event paying $4,000 to win and $400 to start. Jeff Rine of Danville, Selinsgrove’s 11-time track champion, is the defending Appalachian Mountain Dirt Late Model Speedweek champion.

“With our series based in Mechanicsburg we consider Selinsgrove one of our home tracks,” said Smith. “We have a great relationship with the track’s new management team and it’s going to be fun getting our teams and fans back there for the series finale.”

“We have the one of the most competitive fields of super late models on a weekly basis at Selinsgrove,” said speedway general manager Steve Inch. “We’re excited to be working with Kurt and his group to bring the popular Dirt Late Model Speedweek Series back to Selinsgrove where we will crown next year’s champion.”

The June 12 race will be a first in the Dirt Late Model Speedweek Series for Selinsgrove since 2010, when Nick Dickson of Lewistown took the checkered flag. Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg was the Selinsgrove winner in the series’ inaugural year in 2009.

Smith indicated there will be an expanded point fund for next year’s series and teams will not be required to pay any additional registration fees to compete in series events.