Rocco Survives Waterford Modified Mayhem


Now in the lead, Keith Rocco controlled the restart. The field was able to log some laps with Diego Monahan and Craig Lutz moving into the top three while several cars battled for position behind that including point leader Ted Christopher. That cooled down on lap-21 when caution was out when Jackson spun off turn two, collecting Corey Coates.

Rocco was again out front following the next restart. Only two more laps were recorded before the cars of Chadwick and Justin Gaydosh found each other on the back chute, resulting in Chadwick off the track in turn three and Gaydosh spinning in turn four. Caution was back out on lap 23.

Two more attempts to restart the race on lap-23 took place when the final and most serious incident of the race occurred. Monahan and Lutz got together racing for second position headed into turn one. The contact reverberated backwards and more than half the field ended up collected in a massive pileup, drawing the red flag. When the dust settled Adam Gada, Tom Abele Jr., Rob Janovic Jr., Ed Puleo, Jeff Rocco and Jackson were among the wrecked. Christopher, Morgillo and Joe Gada were able to resume after pitting for repairs.

Following the accident the field raced through the checkered flag when racing finally resumed. Lutz was able to get away from Monahan securely into second and mounted a serious challenge on Rocco. He initially looked high, however was able to find room underneath Rocco down the front chute into turn one on lap-30. The leaders made contact and Rocco made a stellar save at the front of the field.

Lutz backed off to allow Rocco to correct his car before diving back underneath him off turn two down the back chute. Lutz temporarily grabbed the lead however Rocco regrouped, getting to Lutz’s back bumper in turn three to counter. Rocco shot underneath Lutz to re-take the top spot on lap 31.

Lutz continued to chase Rocco looking for any opportunity to make another bid for the win. He was unable to get alongside Rocco, who went on to the victory, his third on the year. Lutz took home second position with Ceravolo coming back for third. Monahan and Chadwick completed the top-five.

Previous articleTwo VMS Late Model Winners
Next articleWilson Claims Rocky Mountain Glory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.