Zrostlik Rides High Groove TO Maquoketa Victory


MAQUOKETA, Iowa – He studied the track during the races prior to his. Then it was decision time.

Joe Zrostlik chose the high groove of Maquoketa Speedway’s racy oval and proceeded to lead all 25 laps of the Andover Meat IMCA Late Model feature Saturday evening.

“This is my first Late Model win in two years so this is awesome,” Zrostlik said. “I watched the Modifieds and looked like the low side was coming in. Then the Hobby (Stocks) with all the cautions so decided off those.”

The Long Grove pilot, who also occasionally wheels a 4 Cylinder and Stock Car, set his QCStorage.com/QCJeeps.com MasterSbilt in high gear on the high side to hold off a charging Jeff Tharp and Andy Nezworski in a caution-free affair on a steamy Maquoketa night.

“I loved there were no cautions and didn’t think too much about the weather,” Zrostlik added. “I was scared because I knew Tharp is good up high and Andy’s won here already. So I’m just thankful it worked this way.”

Jeremiah Hurst and Donnie Pataska rounded out the top five.

Track champion Bryce Garnhart stormed from his third row starting spot, led by lap 5 and held off Justin Kay to win the QCJeeps.com IMCA Modified 20-lap finale. The Shannon, Ill. ace ran his Baldauf Farms/Millers Sports Center/Masser Crop Services Rage machine first high and then to the bottom groove en route to the win.

Early leader Jordan Hicks, Darin Duffy and Tyler Madigan followed.

Point leader Tyler Soppe also started in the third row and got to the front of the B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMod 15-lap feature. It was his sixth Maquoketa victory.

Gage Neal, Jacob Ellithorpe, Mitch Manternach and Jerry Miles followed in a very competitive event.

Jared Waterman was a surprise GRE / REV Chassis IMCA Stock Car winner. Chris Hinrichs, Blaine Dopler, Terry Dulin and Donnie Louck came across after.

Chase Zaruba looked to lock up his first Stock Car feature, leading all 15 circuits. However, he was reluctantly disqualified for not going through tech after the victory circle celebration.

Shane Oberbreckling set his ride out front early and topped a wild Shawn’s Auto Service IMCA Hobby Stock 15-lap finale. All the action was behind the Onslow veteran as he beat Jacob Floyd, Kile Vohringer, Randy Byerly and Daniel Wauters.

Atalissa’s Cody Vandusen topped a strong Obie’s Bar and Restaurant / B&C Liquor 4 Cylinder 12-lap feature field. Point leader Ashley Reuman, Brett Marshall, Thomas Adams and Nick Proehl followed.

The debut of the 2-Man Cruisers found a familiar face in victory circle. Justin Kay and Keith Keltner beat seven other cruisers for the 12-lap win.