Wroten & Wauters Split Maquoketa Split Twin 20s


MAQUOKETA, Iowa – Crews and drivers discussed the track conditions throughout the pit area Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway.

The consensus was fast and tacky even at feature race time.

Leah Wroten adjusted and dominated en route to the 20-lap Shawn’s Auto Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature number one win during the season opener Twin 20s.

“This heavy track usually isn’t my style this late in the night,” Wroten said in Hoker Trucking Victory Lane. “But I was able to put the car anywhere I needed and it worked. I can’t thank everyone on the car enough. They had it ready to go.”

Wroten wheeled from middle of the starting field and bided her time to the front, which gave her a view of what feature two may look like with an inverted start.

“I started this one eighth so it gives me a good idea what to watch for and we know this car can do it.”

In the nightcap, West Branch’s Daniel Wauters threaded through traffic, avoided some complications, past Kaden Reynolds late and was first to the checkers.

Wauters had the most wins in 2018. This win broke a four-race win streak by Wroten.

Dakota Simonsen, Wauters, Reynolds and Justin Wacha followed Wroten. Behind Wauters were Reynolds, Simonsen, Wacha and Wroten.

Wroten spun while running third in the second feature and climbed from the tail to fifth.

Justin Kay was all smiles in Victory Lane following a 20-lap sweep in the QCJeeps.com IMCA Modified feature.

Kay paced every circuit from the pole for his first 2019 victory, holding off charges from Matt Werner and 2018 champion Bryce Garnhart. Travis Denning and Matt Short were next.

Tyler Soppe was just four points short of a 2018 track title. He quickly laid claim to 2019 by winning the B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMod 15-lap finale.

Soppe launched from fourth starting spot and grabbed the point early from Shane Paris. The 2018 champ Gage Neal, Jerry Miles and Austin Heacock completed the top five.

It was sort of a last minute decision for Tom Schmitt to wheel his GRE/REV Chassis IMCA Stock Car at the season opener.

The choice was good as he sped away with the 15-lap feature win for a sweep of the night. Cole Mather, Chase Zaruba, Tim Bader and Terry Dulin followed.

Michael Grossman made the three hour trip from Keokuk worth it as he won his heat and feature to top off the Obie’s Bar and Restaurant/B&C Liquors 4 Cylinders night.

He held off Jake Benischek and a charging Joe Zrostlik for the 12-lap win. Andy Wagener and Shawn McDermott came next.

Eighty-four race teams from three states hit the track to start the season.