Two Join List Of Marshalltown Winners


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – Two drivers took their first win at Marshalltown Speedway in 2014 on Friday, while three others returned to the winner’s circle.

The Flattrack Quads opened up the night. Travis Brandt jumped to the lead until the last lap coming off of turn four something mechanical broke, which allowed Mike Rupe to sneak across the start and finish line in first. Brandt finished second, Jordan Brown was third, Mark Johnson was fourth and Brandon Gillette was fifth.

The Mod Lites was out next for their 15-lap feature event. Travis Stensland started on the outside front row and he grabbed the lead early. Stensland led all the laps to take his first ever win at Marshalltown meanwhile behind Stensland, They were battling two- and three-wide at times. Terry Brown took the runner up honors meanwhile brother Charlie Brown ended upside down in turn four cominh to the checkered.

Tyson Overton lead the opening lap in the 12 lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature but it was Gary Pfantz taking it away on lap two.

Pickett saw the caution come out on lap eight and on the restart it was Austin Luellen working a different lane. Luellen grabbed the lead away and lead the remaining laps to take his seven win at Motown in 2014. Eric Stanton was second.

It seems like the same story in the Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods 18 lap feature, as it was Jenae Gustin grabbing the early lead.

Logan Scott grabbed the lead away on lap 15 but a lap car slowed him down and forced him to break something in the rear end that gave the lead back to Gustin on lap 16. Gustin went on to take her third in a row and fifth of the season at Motown. Sam Wieben worked his way up to finish second.

Robert Stofer led the first lap in the IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature but Jeff Wollam battled for the lead on lap two. Wollam grabbed the lead and held on through a pair of cautions on lap four and six. Wollam appeared to be heading on to the win but Don Vis saw his power plant expire dumping oil on the track. Donavon Smith saw that and went to the high side and took the lead away with two to go. Smith took the win over Wollam, Trent Murphy, Stofer and Jay Schmidt.

Final feature of the night was the 20 lap IMCA Modifieds feature. This week’s feature was different from last weeks as this one went green-to-checkered. They went four wide on lap one and when it all settled coming across the line it was Jake Strayer out front. Strayer lead the remaining laps and held off several challenges from Ronn Lauritzen and Joel Rust to take his first win at Motown in 2014.

The finish:

Jake Strayer, Joel Rust, Ronn Lauritzen, Rod Clement, Scott Simatovich, John Logue Jr., Derek Reimer, Jeff Streeter, Andrew Kinser, Trent Jackson, Racer Hulin, Coty Albers, Zack Rawlins

Previous articleMcClelland Is The Man At Trail-Way
Next articleDahl Scores At Davenport is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.