Three First Timers At RPM Speedway


HAYS, Kan. — Nate Ginest, hometown driver Garrett Hager and Tim Watts were first time winners this season at RPM Speedway Saturday night.

The Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod 20-lap feature got off to a rough start as Michael Copper and Brandon Belvill crashed into the frontstretch wall on the opening lap. Both drivers were okay but done for the night. Jeremy Couse led the first two laps before a caution waved for a spinning Ryan Gier. On the restart, Ginest shot to the lead and never looked back.

Several cautions kept the field close, and point leader ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye stayed on the back bumper but could not make a pass and settled for the runner-up spot. Heat race winners Daniel Gottschalk and Blaine Walt finished third and fourth, with Brenden Damon rounding out the top five. Cory Struckhoff also won a heat race.

Brady Bencken led the first half of the 20-lap Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature before Hager took the lead at the halfway mark. Hager was able to hold off a late charge by Ron Wehling to make his first trip to the winner’s circle, with Monte Honas, Trevor ‘The Hit Man’ Schmidt and Eric Ross completing the top five. Heat race winners were Hager, Adam Armstrong, Travis Coop and Jason Sucky, with Daniel Irwin winning the B-feature.

Watts took the lead on lap three of the S&W Supply 20-lap IMCA Modified feature from Trent Gray and held on to make his first trip to victory lane this season. Rob Day started 11th and worked his way to second to challenge Watts but had to be content in the runner-up spot. Heat race winners Jesse Richter and David Murray placed third and fourth with Jason Schoenberger finishing fifth. Watts was victorious in the other heat race.

Cody Zimmerman led the opening lap of the Advantage Glass Plus 20-lap IMCA Stock Car feature before Kevin Wagoner took the lead on lap 2. The caution then waved on lap three when Scot Granzella lost a wheel. When the green flag replaced the yellow, Selden’s Jason Rogers took the lead and drove on to score his second feature win in a row at Hays. Jeff Tubbs was second, followed by heat race winners Nick Tubbs and Nolan Remus. Bruce Plumisto finished fifth.

Kiowa Higdon of Hays won his third Tom’s Machine & Welding IMCA Sport Compact feature in a row. Higdon led all 12 laps for the win. Dallas Dunn tried to get under Higdon in turns three and four on the final lap but had to settle for second. Michael Smith, Art Herzog and Madison Reed rounded out the top five. Reed and Kirk Pfannenstiel won the two heat races.

Previous articleHavel Tops Nathan Bouche Memorial
Next articlePelkey Triumphs At Peoria is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.