Three Drivers End RPM Droughts


HAYS, Kan. — Three drivers returned to victory lane at RPM Speedway on Saturday evening.

The S&W Supply IMCA Modified feature saw its seventh different winner in seven outings for the division. Marty Clark jumped out to an early lead, trailed by ‘Rapid’ Ronnie Hill, Jerry Teel and Corey Lagroon. Lagroon worked his way to the front on lap 10, leading the field at the crossed flags.

But caution flags on laps 13 and 16 kept the field close, and Clark regained the lead on lap 17 and held off Lagroon for the win. Brian Calhoon finished third, followed by Rodger Peck and Teel. Heat race winners were Lagroon and Clark.

The Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature saw four different leaders in the 20-lap caution free event. Pat Bedore led the opening lap before Scot Granzella took the lead. Granzella held control until lap 7 when Arnold Williams took the point.

But ninth starting Jason Rogers of Selden took over the lead on lap 11 and led the remaining distance for his second win of the season at Hays. Casey Werkmeister ran second, followed by Jeff Tubbs, Williams, and heat two winner Bedore. Jason Davis won the other heat race.

Tyler Frye won his fourth feature in the caution filled Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod division. Cody Pancake led the first five laps before Daniel Gottschalk took the lead after a lap six caution. Gottschalk led through lap 10 before Frye was able to make the winning pass. Blaine Walt was able to get by Gottschalk for second, with Clay Money and Pancake finishing fourth and fifth. Walt, Gottschalk and Trenton Kleweno were victorious in the three heat races.

T.C. McKain of Downs scored his first victory at the 3/8-mile oval in the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock class. Heat two winner Colton Pfeifer led the 18-car field the first two laps before Ron Wehling made the pass for the lead. Pfeifer regained control on lap six and led at the halfway mark of the 15-lap race.

Then McKain took the lead on lap 10 and was able to hold off heat one winner Kent Tammen to the checkers. G.W. ‘Cheeseburger’ Fuller finished third, with Wehling and Travis Coop rounding out the top five.

Monte Honas won his fifth D K Ranch IMCA Sport Compact feature in a row to continue his domination in that division. Honas went from ninth to first on the opening lap and never looked back. Point leader Michael Smith finished in the runner-up spot, with Tanner Chapin, Art Herzog and John McNabb completing the top five. Heat race winners were Brady Bencken and Smith.

Previous articleWhitener Controls Mike Peters Open
Next articleBlewett Claims Garden State Classic is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.