Sobbing Is Ninth Hawkeye Dirt Ace


TIPTON, Iowa — And then there were nine.

Jesse Sobbing became the ninth different winner in as many XSAN Hawkeye Dirt Tour events this season on Tuesday night at Cedar County Raceway.

He bested a stellar field of 45 IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds for the victory that paid $1,000 and put him on the ballot for next year’s Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.

Brad Diercks, 16th starting Brian Webb, Darin Duffy and Kyle Brown completed the top five.

Steve Stewart drew the pole start and battled back and forth with Sobbing much of the first half in the 30-lapper. Stewart used the low line while Sobbing stayed on the high side, finally finding his way past near midway.

Duffy then gave chase, also up top, while Diercks and Stewart contested for third.

Two late cautions interrupted the action when Richie Gustin and Dustin Kraklio went off the top of the oval in the second set of turns.

Diercks and then Webb would use restarts to their advantage and pass Duffy on the low side. Neither could reel in Sobbing, however.