Six Classes At Mineral City


FORT DODGE, Iowa — After a long and hot summer, perfect racing weather greeted drivers and fans at the Mineral City Speedway Friday night with six classes in action on the fast half-mile clay oval.

For the first time since, June the USRA A-Mods returned to the track with Scott Olson taking down the win and $500 top prize, with Bill Crimmins, Ryan Watnem, Chris Snyder and Devon Havlik rounding out the top five. It was the first win of the season at MCS for the Blairsburg pilot.

Due to the nice turnout of cars, officials announced that the A-Mods have been added to the program this Monday and Tuesday, Aug. 20-21, during the Great American Stock Shootout, as well as the Season Championships next Friday, Aug. 24.

Fort Dodge’s Lance Deal bested Wayne Crimmins, Malcolm Teachout and for the victory in the USRA Stock Car main event. It was Deal’s sixth win of the season.

In the USRA B-Mod main event, Eric Elliott of Boone took the checkered flag for his fourth win of the year. Polesitter Jake Simpson held on for the runner-up paycheck, followed by Andy Tiernan, Chase Ellingson and Matt Lettow.

USRA Hobby Stock point leader Myles Michehl of Fort Dodge picked up the $300 winner’s share of the prize money with his sixth triumph of the 2012 campaign. Cody Nielsen charged from tenth on the starting grid to a second-place finish. Jeremy Morriss, Bill Richards and Kevin Berger rounded out the top five.

In other action, Fort Dodge residents Brad Hanse and Joe DeBoer each took home feature wins. While Hanse captured his seventh overall win and fifth straight in the Econo Stock class, DeBoer roared to his third of the season.



Previous articleWOO: River Cities Speedway
Next articleDonath Rules Brewerton ESS is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.