Salina Speedway New NeSmith Weekly Track


CARTERSVILLE, Ga. – Salina (Kan.) Speedway has signed on with the NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series for its late model division in 2014.

The addition of Salina Speedway to the list of NeSmith Chevrolet WRS sanctioned tracks, gives the seven-year series a big westward geographical expansion.

Drivers in the Salina Speedway NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series Late Model Division will now compete for both a track point fund and a National point fund against drivers at other sanctioned tracks nationwide using a points system. Drivers will count their best 14 weekly point totals during a 27-week season that runs from March 24 through Sept. 28.

The top-10 drivers in the NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series National point standings will share a $20,000 point fund at the end of the season with $10,000 going to the Champion. Salina Speedway will operate on Friday nights during the 2014 season.

“The NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series is something we’ve been looking for to help us inexpensively revitalize dirt late model racing in our area,” Salina Speedway Promoter Tommy Hendrickson said. “Our competitors like the concept of competing for a National Championship without having to travel. Looking at the points system, our top drivers could have finished in the Top 10 of the points last season.”

The dirt late model race cars in the NeSmith Chevrolet Weekly Racing Series are powered by the economical Chevrolet Performance Crate Engines that are built and sealed at the factory to prevent any expensive modifications. There are two engines to choose from, the 400 horsepower aluminum-head 604 engine for $5,195 and the 350 horsepower steel-head 602 engine that gets a 100-pound weight break.

Previous articleLines Claims World Series Opener
Next articleVIDEO: Step Inside The McLaren MP4/4 is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.