Rookie Elliott Leads Marshalltown Winners


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – On Friday night it was back to action at the Marshalltown Speedway on UAW 893 Cliff Chambers Memorial Night.

The first feature on to the speedway was the IMCA Sport Compacts eight lapper. John Gill started on the outside front row and he took advantage by taking the lead. David Moorman tried several times to get by but just was not going to deny Gill the win. For Gill, it was his first win since season championship night last year. Moorman came across in second, Aaron Miller was third, Jacob Reiter was fourth and Jeremy Stone was fifth.

Always on Cliff Chambers Memorial Night, the Nostalgia Cars pay a visit to the high banked quarter mile. They put on a show of themselves, racing cars from the 1950’s and 1960’s, and even rubbing fenders. Jim Anderson led the first six laps but it was Roger Ceilsiski taking the lead away on lap seven. Ceilsiski went on to take the win in his 1963 Chevy Nova SS. Anderson came home second, Pudge Grabill was third, Larry Knop was fourth and Scott Jorpeland was fifth.

The Mod Lites saw the caution come out before the completion of lap one in their 15 lap feature. Charlie Brown got a great restart and took the lead on the restart. Lap traffic slowed Brown a little but he was able to hold on to take the win over hard charging Andy Hennigar. Mike Morrill, Jimmy May and Travis Stensland rounded out the top five.

The IMCA Hobby Stocks 12 lap feature also saw a yellow before the completion of lap one. Austin Luellen grabbed the top spot and pulled away but then the caution came out again on lap eight when Andy Hick had his right rear go down forcing him to face the wrong direction on the backstretch. That bunched the field up right behind Luellen and he would not let that faze him as he held off late race challenges from John Watson. Garrett Eilander came home third, Eric Larson was in a close fourth and Eric Stanton in fifth.

Zach McKinnion and Gatlin Leytham led the field to the green in the IMCA SportMods 18 lap feature event. Neither one of them took the early lead, it was Brett Lowry. Lowry saw Carter VanDenBerg take the top spot away on lap three. VanDenBerg pulled away to what appeared to be an easy win until lap traffic slowed him down allowing Lowry to stay close. VanDenBerg came across the line in first but was disqualifed in post-race tech inspection for his ignition box. That gave the win to Lowry and moving up Jenae Gustin to second, Doug Smith to third, Clint Luellen to fourth and Ty Luellen to fifth.

Steve Meyer grabbed the lead early in the IMCA Stock Car event and appeared to be taking the win until the caution came out on lap 11. This forced a seven lap dash to the finish and now Meyer saw Jeff Wollam and Jay Schmidt on his back bumper. Trent Murphy and Donavon Smith also right there and that is where the battle heated up. Smith made the right move with two laps to go, he took the top spot away to take the win. Meyer, Schmidt, Murphy and Wollam rounded out the top five.

The IMCA Modifieds feature was the final feature of the night and it was the rookie Eric Elliott jumping to the lead. Elliott held that lead until lap 14 when Luke Wanninger snuck by him. Wanninger began to pull away but the caution came out forcing a four lap shootout. Wanninger got a great restart and went on to take the win over 10th place starter Joel Rust. Racer Hulin came across in third but was disqualifed in post race tech inspection. Ronn Lauritzen was credited with third place, Elliott with fourth place and Tyler Droste with fifth place.

Previous articleWOO: Wilmot Raceway
Next articleStewart Untouchable In Limaland Opener is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.