Peters, Heger Win Big In Kansas

Mike Peters won Saturday's United Rebel Sprint Series feature at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park. (TWC Photos Photo)
Mike Peters won Saturday’s United Rebel Sprint Series feature at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park. (TWC Photos Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – Mike Peters and Ryan Heger were among the big winners in Saturday night’s season-ending Championship Night event at the three-eighths-mile Dodge City Raceway Park.

While Peters topped the United Rebel Sprint Series (URSS) 305-ci Sprint Car season finale in the night’s 30-lap nightcap and Heger edged IMCA Modified track champion Brendon Gemmill in the 20-lap Modified main, other winners included Trent Kleweno in the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, Dusty Witthuhn in IMCA Stock Cars, Cody Davis in Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car action and Jarett Lunow in the Hornets.

Peters made a late move to win the URSS main event while both Modified features came down to the final inches in the hotly-contested feature events.

With Peters gridding the URSS feature outside the fifth row, Kris Moore and Shawn Radcliffe led the way to the green flag. Moore gunned into the early lead, with the red flag flying on the second lap when Radcliffe and Lance Davis both went for a wild ride after tangling getting into turn one. Both drivers walked away uninjured.

Moore led the way on the restart until eighth-starter Luke Cranston surged into the lead upon the completion of the fifth lap with Ray Seemann and Peters following suit over the next pair of circuits.

With the final 29 laps run in non-stop fashion and through traffic over the final 20 circuits, Peters battled past Seemann for second by the 20th round with J.D. Johnson working around for Seemann on the 24th lap.

Peters fought off a challenge from Johnson and then charged past Cranston for the lead on the 28th round en route to his second URSS win of the year. Cranston held on for runner-up honors, with Johnson claiming the show position. Brian Herbert secured the URSS National championship with a late run to fourth from his 14th starting position, with Taylor Velasquez rounding out the top five.

Seemann was sixth, with Zach Blurton, Jake Bubak, Mike Woodruff and Tyler Knight completing the top 10.

In the IMCA Modified finale, Jon Herring took the lead away from Jason Lunow on the second round and diced for the point for several rounds with fifth-starter Heger before surrendering the lead on the tenth round.

Heger held Brendon Gemmill at bay by several car-lengths until the final corner when he pushed high and narrowly gave the win away. Heger held on by inches, while Gemmill fell just short of his sixth win of the season. “I pushed in that last corner and had to get out of it way too much, I’m just glad we held on,” Heger explained after his first career Modified win at DCRP.

Beau Davis claimed the show position behind Heger and Gemmill, with Nick Link and Mike Lunow rounding out the top five.

While he settled for second in the IMCA Modified finale, Gemmill claimed his second track championship in a row after Cole Traugott fell out of contention in the early going with front end damage. Gemmill had entered the night trailing Traugott by one point.

After Jared Baird paced the opening four rounds of the United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified main event, Trent Kleweno and Robert Elliott battled for the point over the final half dozen circuits of the 20-lapper. After a lap 18 caution briefly interrupted their duel, the pair swapped the lead again in the final pair of corners with Kleweno getting the nod at the stripe.

Kleweno and Elliott were chased to the line by Baird, with Jeff Kaup and Bart Baker rounding out the top five.

Though he officially led all 15 laps, Dusty Witthuhn had his hands full with Michael Pepper as he drove to his third IMCA Stock Car win of the year. Witthuhn and Pepper were chased to the line by Sonny O’Hair, Brandon Fisher and Keith Riley.

Cody Davis emerged atop a hard fought Poor Boy Kustomz Thunder Car 15-lap feature that included at least a half-dozen lead changes. Davis snared the lead for keeps on the 13th lap and took the checkered flag ahead of Dan Rogers, Edwin Elliott, Dustin Walker and Toby Schield.

Jarett Lunow raced around Brandon Bogner six laps into the 20-lap Hornet feature and went on to his first win of the year ahead of Brandon Sprott, Brian Rohrer, Dewayne Bowman and Martin Marlowe.