Oberbreckling Leads Maquoketa Winners


MAQUOKETA, Iowa  – The contact and hard racing was just friendly fire.

Shane Oberbreckling outbattled Kile Vohringer to win the 15-lap Shawn’s Auto Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature Saturday evening at Maquoketa Speedway.

“I felt him back there no doubt,” Oberbreckling said. “That was just a great race. We get along great, he drove me clean with a few bumps and I would’ve drove him the same way.”

The two stuck to the highside cushion and dueled side by side and nose to tail almost the entire distance, including hooking bumpers once on lap 11 on the front stretch.

“I wasn’t sure how that was going to turn out, but we did what we had to. That was a great way to get my second win.”

Daniel Wauters, Lukas Short and Dawson Bowling rounded out the top five.

Jaden Fryer moved to the front early and the 16-year old paced the QCJeeps.com IMCA Modified 20-lap feature. He outran point leader Bryce Garnhart, Jed Freiburger, Steve Johnson and Jarrett Franzen.

Tyler Soppe took another 15-lap B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMod finale ahead of Gage Neal, Jerry Miles, early leader Joe Grant and Ryan Reed. The race went the distance without a caution with Soppe starting P8 and getting by Grant on lap 9.

Damon Murty passed Joe Zrostlik about halfway through, stayed on the cushion and hung on for the 15-lap GRE / REV Chassis IMCA Stock Car win. Shane Richardson, Chase Zaruba and Tom Cannon followed.

Tyler Shady passed Jamie Wood on the white flag lap and won the epic 12-lap Obie’s Bar and Restaurant / B&C Liquor 4 Cylinder feature. Point leader Ashley Reuman also got by to finish on Shady’s bumper to finish off a great three-car battle. Tim Sibley and Thomas Adams were next.