New Faces In RPM Victory Lane


HAYS, Kan. — Two new faces appeared in victory lane at RPM Speedway Saturday evening.

In the Rebel Tank Service IMCA Hobby Stock feature, Russell’s Ron Wehling took the lead from T.C. McKain on lap three and was able to hold on to score his first win of the year at Hays. The first caution flew on lap 8 when Al Emmons broke, then the red came out one lap later when Trevor ‘The Hit Man’ Schmidt rolled on the frontstretch. He was OK but done for the night.

The field had one last shot on a lap 13 caution, but Wehling pulled away for the win. Jeromy Wagner finished second, followed by ‘Neon’ Leon Pfannenstiel, ‘The Wild Child’ Garrett Hager, and ‘Bam Bam’ Cody Graham. Heat race winners were Wagner, Wehling and McKain.

The Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature also saw a new face in the winner’s circle. Shaylon Holloway led the first six laps of the 20-lap race before Colby’s B.J. Wagoner took control. Scot Granzella chased Wagoner down and was within striking distance of Wagoner late in the race. But coming out of turn two on the final lap, Granzella and Wagoner made contact with Wagoner looping his car.

He kept moving to finish fourth. But track officials deemed contact by Granzella caused the spin, and scored the race on the previous lap with Granzella scored last. Wagoner then was credited with the win, trailed by heat race winners Jeff Tubbs and Pat Bedore. Jason Davis and Holloway completed the top five.

After 10 races in the Federated Auto Parts IMCA Modified division, no one was able to make a repeat appearance in victory lane. But newlywed Travis ‘The Terminator’ Sherfick of Wakeeney broke the drought by winning his second main event of the year, but younger brother ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick made him earn it.

The first three laps saw three different leaders in ‘Rapid’ Ronnie Hill, and the Sherfick brothers. Dylan led lap two but gave way to Travis on lap three. But Dylan regained the lead at the halfway mark of the 20-lap event, only to again be passed by Travis on the following circuit. Travis was able to hold off Dylan through a couple more caution periods to score the hard earned win. Corey Lagroon was third, followed by Rodger Peck and Marty Clark. Heat race winners were Hill and Dylan Sherfick.

In the Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Northern Sport Mod main event, ‘The Money Man’ Clay Money of Penokee took the lead on lap two from Cory McGann and led the remaining laps to score his second victory at RPM Speedway this season. The battle for the top five was close, but ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye would finish in the runner-up spot, followed by Cory Struckhoff, Jake Krone and Kurtis Pihl. McGann, Daniel Gottschalk and Blaine Walt were victorious in their heat races.

Monte Honas of Ellis won his eighth D.K. Ranch IMCA Sport Compact feature in a row to continue his domination in that division. Kirk Pfannenstiel led the opening lap of the 15-lap race before Andrew Soderlund took command. But the tenth starting Honas worked his way through the field and took the lead on lap 11 and led the rest of the way in the caution free event. Soderlund and Pfannenstiel finished second and third, followed by heat two winner Michael Smith and Shyla Hughes. Bret Henke won the other heat race.

Previous articleMassart Honors Grandmother At Thunderhill
Next articlePettyjohn Tops Hagerstown Battle is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.