Murray Leads Dodge City Winners List

David Murray won Friday's IMCA modified feature at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park. (DCRP Photo)
David Murray won Friday’s IMCA modified feature at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park. (DCRP Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – David Murray cashed in on the opening night of the inaugural Dodge City Modified Stampede by taking the $1,200 triumph in Friday night’s 30-lap IMCA Modified main event atop the three-eighths-mile Dodge City Raceway Park clay oval.

Murray took command on the 12th round and never looked back en route to victory lane in his first DCRP appearance of the year after capturing a pair of wins at the track in 2012.

While Murray took the big Modified money, other Friday night winners included Austin Walker in United Wireless IMCA Sport Modifieds, Brandon Fisher in IMCA Stock Cars and David Shumard in Thunder Cars.

With Murray gridding the feature field inside the third row, Kevin Gray and Rick Taylor led the way to the green flag with Gray jumping into the early lead and pacing the initial circuits ahead of fourth-starter Ryan Heger as Murray made his way to third by the fourth round.

Murray moved in on the lead duo after several rounds and began making a move for the lead, making a move past Heger for second on the 11th lap and then racing past Gray for the point one lap later with Heger relegating Gray to third on the 14th round.

Murray slipped away from Heger and Gray until the race’s first caution flew after 20 laps for Jon Herring, Jr., who came to a stop in turn three just two laps after Troy Gemmill made his way past Austin Allen for fourth.

When the second and final caution flew three laps later, Gemmill had made his way around Gray for third with Allen moving up to fourth.

Set for a seven-lap dash to the checkered, Murray set sail and cruised to the line in comfortable fashion with Gemmill battling past Heger on the 27th lap to secure runner-up honors. Heger settled for the show position, while Brendon Gemmill rebounded from an early miscue that sent him to the tail of the field to snare fourth.

Previous articleTwo Straight For Bryan Clauson
Next articleHannagan Masters Limaland Again is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.