Murray Can’t Be Beat In Nebraska


LEXINGTON, Neb. – David Murray, Jr. added another trophy to his collection by winning Sunday’s IMCA modified feature at Dawson County Raceway.

It took a few laps for Murray to get to the front of the field, but once there after a miscue on a restart, the Murray rocketship ran off on lap seven.

Zach Schultz led from the drop of the green flag through the sixth lap before relinquishing the lead to Murray. Schultz stayed on gas to the tune of a runner-up finish in the feature.

Coming the whole way from the sixth row at the beginning, Cole Hodges took his new chassis onto the podium with a third place finish.

Heat race winner Cale Osborn of Cozad was high on the wheel early and often in bringing home fourth place accolades against a stiff field of open wheeled racers. Rounding out your top five with a strong run from his fifth row starting position was Davenport’s Scott Smith.

Jay Steffens won an early in the night heat race, and was in the money until having a minor mishap on a restart that caused the Dirt Boss chassis to visit the work area for a new tire.

Other winners at Dawson County Sunday were Jesse Sobbing (IMCA Northern SportMods), Mike Nichols (IMCA stock cars), Jason Wilkinson (IMCA hobby stocks) and David Dembowski (IMCA sport compacts).