Moore Nips Brown At Wakeeney


WAKEENEY, Kan. — Mother Nature tried to intervene at Wakeeney Speedway Sunday evening, but track officials were able to get the program complete before weather moved in.

The only race cut short was the IMCA Modified feature as officials checkered the race at 16 laps, 4 laps short of the scheduled 20, as rain began to fall and driver safety became an issue. Scott Brown led the first half of the race and looked to be on his way to his first win.

Nate Moore, who stayed close to Brown the second half of the race, made his move and took the lead late in the race. Moore held on to the checkers, followed by Brown, Tim Watts, ‘The Terminator’ Travis Sherfick, and younger brother ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick. Heat race winners were Brown and Watts.

Jeff Tubbs had a good night in the IMCA Stock Car division. Tubbs won the first heat race, then took the lead on lap two of the 15-lap feature from Cody Williams and drove away for this third win in a row at Wakeeney. B.J. Wagoner finished a distant second, followed by ‘The Z Man’ Mark Zorn, second heat winner ‘The Spiderman’ Nick Tubbs, and Jason Davis.

The IMCA Northern Sport Mod feature had its fair share of cautions. Daniel Gottschalk led the first three laps of the 15-lap race before Collyer’s Blaine Walt took the lead. Walt was able to hold off a stellar field through several caution periods to make his way to victory lane. ‘The Money Man’ Clay Money finished second, trailed by Trenton Kleweno, Gottschalk, and Chris Heim. Heat race winners included Andy Barton, Kleweno and Money.

The IMCA Hobby Stock feature got off to a rough start as Al Emmons rolled in turn 2. He was okay but done for the night. Emmons arrived at the track late as he also rolled the night before at Hays.

On the restart, Topeka’s Brian Stich took a lead he would not relinquish and ended up 15 laps later in the Jason Oil winner’s circle. Eric Ross, Colin Heim, ‘Neon’ Leon Pfannenstiel and Kirk Karst completed the top five. Stich and ‘The Wild Child’ Garrett Hager won the two heat races.

The IMCA Sport Compacts made their second appearance of the season at Wakeeney. Monte Honas of Ellis chased down leader Dean Herzog and took the lead on lap 5 and held off young Kirk Pfannenstiel for the win. Michael Smith was third, with Ed Jasper and Brett Henke fourth and fifth. Heat race victors were Art Herzog and Dean Herzog.

Previous articleUSAC MIDGETS: Kokomo Speedway
Next articleGonzalez, First Ferrari F-1 Winner, Dies is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.