Montana 200 Belongs To Garrett Evans


KALISPELL, Mont. – The 24th annual Coors Light Montana 200 finished in stunning fashion as a comeback story was capped off in victory lane by Garrett Evans.

The past two days saw the most determined drivers and anxious fans of the year. The stands were crammed and 40 cars were on the track, as qualifying set the fast 14, the B main, and the Last Chance Qualifying presented opportunities to qualify for the show. During the B main, Corey Wolfe wrecked head on into turn three. Wolfe would be immediately transported to the hospital where it was assessed that he had broken three vertebrate.

To help raise money for the wounded Wolfe a bucket was passed around for donations, in that bucket by the end of Saturday night was more than $2,500 dollars.

The Big Bore Super trucks came a fun and unique class came down to race and three different racers got to claim first place finishes in the classes three races. Qualifying went to Scott Lucas, the trophy dash to Dean Braham, and the main event to Dusty O’Connell. This will be the only trip for the class down to Montana Raceway Park this season.

On Friday night qualifying took place for the Montana 200 along with some dashes and two mains. As drivers raced their hardest trying to avoid having to race their way into the 200, Owen Riddle would finish with the fastest qualifying time at 13.106 seconds, thus securing him the pole for the race.

In the D trophy dash the young Giles Thornton would get a victory but would have to race his way into the 200. In the C trophy dash Shane Mitchell came away with the checkers. As for the B dash Jeff Jefferson would edge out one of the fan favorites Trevor Emond. The A dash, which hosts the four fastest qualifiers, was won by B.J. Tidrick. The next race before the C main was the fast 14 first heat, and that race would be won by last year’s 200 winner Jonathon Gomez.

Previous articleWOO: Williams Grove Speedway
Next articleWight Claims Fulton Feature is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.