McCarl Gets No. 53 At Knoxville


KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Terry McCarl claimed career win No. 53 at Knoxville Raceway on Saturday night, leading all 20 laps of the 410 sprint car feature.

The Altoona, Iowa, driver inched closer to point leader Davey Heskin as Southern Iowa Sprint Week looms ahead, and just two point races remain in the Knoxville Championship Cup Series.

McCarl led throughout from outside the front row. AJ Moeller spun into the turn three wall while running ninth with two laps in the books. At the same time, Tim Kaeding retired from fifth with a smoking power plant. Ian Madsen also needed to replace a bent right rear wheel.

McCarl led Bronson Maeschen, Brian Brown, Steve Smith and Don Droud Jr. back to green flag racing on the restart. A lap later, Brown was able to shoot by Maeschen, and began chasing the leader. Maeschen would retire at the halfway point when he came to a stop with motor issues.

Meanwhile, Kyle Larson, making his first career winged appearance at Knoxville, was on the move. After being disqualified from his heat for changing a right rear tire, he won the B main and started 21st in the main event. By lap 12 he was up to fourth. Unfortunately, he was sidelined with mechanical issues. The series of cautions put clean air out front for McCarl, with Brown in tow.

Droud climbed past Stevie Smith into third on lap 14, and followed the lead pair to the checkers. Smith and Dusty Zomer followed. Jac Haudenschild, Brad Sweet, Heskin, Lynton Jeffrey and Mark Dobmeier completed the top 10.

“You never know what you are doing out front with Brian behind you,” said McCarl. “Like last week, you don’t want to count your chickens before they’re hatched. Brian has one of the top teams in the nation, so to have him and all the other drivers we had tonight…it’s great to have Knoxville guys like Don and me on the podium.”

Matt Moro won for the eighth time in his career in the 360 class. Matthew Stelzer won his first career feature at Knoxville in the 305 class.