Matt Ryan Blitzes Davenport Foes


DAVENPORT, Iowa — Under damp and chilly weather conditions, the Davenport Speedway completed the entire racing program on Friday. The weather helped to make the racing surface very fast all night long.

Matt Ryan collected his first Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model feature win of the season. Ryan wrestled the lead from Chad Holladay on lap seven and led the rest of the way to the checkers.

Lapped traffic and a caution flag gave Holladay a couple chances to get to Ryan’s bumper but he would have to settle for second. Rob Toland finished a close third. Chad Coyne and Chuck Hanna completed the top five. Ryan and Holladay were also the late model heat winners.

Rob Toland rolled to his second Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature win of the season at Davenport. After an opening lap incident, Toland moved up to the front row for the restart.  That was all Rob needed. Toland sped away from the field and cruised to an easy victory.

Bryce Garnhart finished second with Chris Zogg third. Doug Crampton and Tony VonDresky were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Koehler Electric Street Stock action saw Jeff Struck Jr. win his second straight race. Struck drove to the point in just two laps and had a sizeable lead when the caution flag flew. Once again, Struck pulled out to a lead. Tony VonDresky was able to get by Jesse Owen to finish second. Owen took third with Gene Ehlers fourth and Austin Riggs fifth.

Dustin Schram won his first Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod feature this year. The caution-filled feature saw only nine of the nineteen starters reach the checkers. Andrew Burk edged out Brandon Setser for second. Mike Adam and Jared Waterman rounded out the top five.

Tim Arp romped to the win in the American Iron Racing Series main. Arp finished with a full straightaway lead over second place Dan Kessler. Dave Meier, Kevin Dickey, and Dennis Etten finished third through fifth, in that order.