Malmstrom Speeds To Davenport Victory


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Friday was a great night for racing at Iowa’s Davenport Speedway, with more than 100 cars in the pit area ready to go on track.

It was also a great night for Todd Malmstrom. Malmstrom won both his heat and feature races in the Petersen Plumbing and Heating IMCA Late Model division. The victory was his first-ever feature win at Davenport.

The 25-lap late model main started with Mike Garland jumping out to an early lead. On lap seven, Garland’s engine let go and Spencer Diercks would inherit the lead. Malmstrom caught Diercks and the lead duo would swap the lead on five consecutive laps.

Malmstrom finally took the lead for good on lap 18 and go on to take the checkers. Diercks would hold on to second with Mike Murphy Jr. taking third. Ray Guss Jr. and Brunson Behning completed the top five.

Late model heat wins went to Malmstrom, Guss, and Justin Kay.

Kelly Meyer dominated the Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modified feature. Meyer leaped from his second row starting spot to the lead on lap one and never looked back. Meyer led all 20 laps of the caution-free race. Chris Zogg started sixth and would finish second. Bob Dominacki had to qualify through the B-main and raced to a third place finish. Matt Werner and Jake Bowman were fourth and fifth respectively.

Donnie Louck captured his second Koehler Electric Street Stock victory of the season. Steve Jackson led the first four laps of the race, with Louck taking over on lap five. Jackson came back to lead lap 12 as the leaders were in lapped traffic. Louck re-took the lead on the next lap and held on the checkered flag. Jackson finished a close second. Keith Blum, Perry Gellerstedt, and Andrew Burk were third, fourth, and fifth in that order.

Doug Burkhead made it back-to-back feature wins in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod class. Burkhead led all 15 laps of the race. Bryce Garnhart came from mid-pack to finish second. Jake Morris, Dustin Crear, and Joe Grant rounded out the top five.

Andy Loy became the first repeat winner in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock division this year. Loy started in the fifth row and secured the lead by lap five. Andrew Fitzgerald had another strong showing to go with his second place finish. Brandon Setser crossed the stripe in third, however he was later disqualified in post-race inspection. Justin Schroeder, Zach Dahl, and Allen Morris were all credited with top-five finishes.

Previous articleLuellen Powers To Marshalltown Win
Next articlePHOTOS: Brickyard Invitational Day One is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.