Luellen Powers To Marshalltown Win


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – The Luellen brothers made sure Marshalltown Speedway knew of their presence on Friday night.

The first feature of the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts eight-lap event. John Gill led the opening lap before Adam Gates took the top spot away on lap two. Gates took the checkered first with David Moorman in second, Aaron Miller in third and Gill in fourth.

In the Mod Lites 15 lap feature it was Mike Kennedy taking the early lead but it was short lived as Jimmy May took the top spot away on lap three. May saw his son Josh May experience troubles on lap five forcing the caution to come out. May did not let that get to him but the final race caution came out on lap 12 when Charlie and Terry Brown make contact in turn two that ended Charlie’s night. Jimmy May went on to take the win over Andy Hennigar, Terry Brown, Tim Hennigar and Dusty Masolini.

Rookie Andy Hick went on a spin cycle in front of the field in turn two forcing the caution to come out before the completion of lap one in the IMCA Hobby Stocks feature. Gary Pfantz lead the first two laps before Austin Luellen worked his way to the lead on lap three. Luellen and the field saw the caution one more time on lap seven. Luellen took the win over Garrett Eilander, John Watson, Dustin Elliott and Eric Larson.

Another week the IMCA Northern SporMods 18 lap feature was one to watch. Ryan Ashton led the opening lap before Jenae Gustin took the lead away. Gustin lead through a pair oc cautions on lap four and eight. But after the caution on lap 11, Clint Luellen and Gustin battled it out for the lead. Luellen sneaked by to take lead away on lap 13 and go on to take win three at Motown. Gustin, Andy Tiernan, Brett Lowry and Taylor Musselman round out the top five.

Once again the “Class To Tough To Tame” IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature did not disappoint any one. First three laps saw three different leaders, Dave Atcher, Robbie Merkle and Michael Jaennette. Jaennette lead until the caution came out on lap five when Jeff Wollam and Paul Shepherd spun in turn two. On the restart, Jaennette experienced issues forcing him to the infield on lap seven when Donavon Smith took over the lead. Smith pulled away until he caught lap traffic which allowed Trent Murphy to chase him down on lap 11. Smith was able to get a great restart on the final restart on lap 12 to take the win. Murphy came home 2nd, Justin Temeyer finished 3rd, Steve Meyer was 4th and Atcher was 5th.

The final feature of the night was the IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature and before a lap was completed the caution came out when front row starters Scott Simatovich and Eric Elliott got together. On the restart it was “Downtown” Kyle Brown taking the early lead. Jon Snyder founded his way up to second and was able to take the lead away on lap three. Snyder continued to lead through a pair of cautions on lap five and seven. The lap seven caution saw front runners Kyle Brown and Luke Wanninger get together in turn four. Adam Larson took the lead away on lap 13 when Snyder lost brakes and decided to pull off. Larson took his second consecutive win at Motown. Ronn Lauritzen found his way to second.


Previous articleTwo In A Row For Satterlee
Next articleMalmstrom Speeds To Davenport Victory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.