Lauritzen Triumphs In Marshalltown


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa – A wild and exciting night of racing was on tap Friday night at Marshalltown.

The Mod Lites were out first for their 15 lap feature event. They would go three and four wide on lap one but when it all settled it was Terry Brown out front. Brown held on to the lead until the caution came out on lap six. Brown had D.J. Schmalzried and Josh May on the back side but Brown held them off but Schmalzried nudged his nose in front of Brown on lap ten.

Brown was not to be denied, as he took it back on lap 11 and led the remaining laps to take his first win of the year.

The 12 lap IMCA Hobby Stocks feature saw the intial front row starters of Travis Merical and Dillon Millon opt to go to the tail so that moved Andy Peck and Steve Fricke to the front row. However none of them grabbed the lead as it was Austin Luellen grabbing the lead on lap one beating Fricke to the line. Shortly after the caution came out when Eric Stanton was spun around on the frontstretch. Luellen went on to take win number six at Motown.

Big Eight Tyre Center IMCA Northern SportMods 18 lap feature saw Jenae Gustin grabbed the early lead from the outside row two starting spot. Gustin saw the caution come out on lap eight for Siraj Thomason in turn two just as she was slicing her way through lap traffic. Gustin pulled away to take the win.

Don Vis lead the opening lap in the IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature but it was Robert Stofer taking it away. Stofer lead until Points Leader Donavon Smith worked his way from outside row six to the lead on lap five. Smith led the remaining laps in the feature that went caution free to take his seventh win.

Final feature of the night was the 20 lap IMCA Modifieds feature. It was packed with plenty of excitement. Drives checked out the new safety tires which brought out some cautions. Before the race got going, Racer Hulin saw his driveshaft come off but when it finally got going it was Joel Bushore leading the first seven laps.

Bushore saw Ronn Lauritzen get by on lap eight but the caution came out again on lap 13 when Tyler Droste rolled off the top of turns three and four. Lauritzen saw the caution come out again on lap 16 for Bushore going off the top of turn three. Lauritzen held on to take the win over Kyle Brown, Scott Simatovich, Jake Strayer and Richie Gustin.

The finish:

Ronn Lauritzen, Kyle Brown, Scott Simatovich, Jake Strayer, Richie Gustin Jr., Eric Elliott, Brandon Leeman, Derek Reimer , Joel Rust, Trent Jackson, Andrew Kinser, Kyle Krampe, Joel Bushore, Tyler Droste, David Brown, Jon Snyder, Rod Clement, Racer Hulin , Zack Rawlins, Tony Cox (Boone)

Previous articleMcMahan Holds Off Madsen At I-55
Next articleHenry Finally Wins At Attica is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.