Knoxville Raceway Hall Of Fame Inductees Revealed


KNOXVILLE, Iowa – The Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame Class of 2019 inductees have been announced by Knoxville’s Hall of Fame Committee

Those being inducted at our ceremonies to be held on June 22 will be Perry Bell, Doug Brown, Jake Peters and Gary “Wally” Price.

This year marks the 41st class of inductees. The Knoxville Raceway Hall of Fame was established in 1979 and there are currently 199 inductees. Below is more info on each of the inductees:

Perry Bell (Media) Knoxville, Iowa:
Bell is a legend in the Knoxville community. A Knoxville High School and Central College alumnus, he began his career as a writer in 1981 for the Knoxville Journal-Express. On top of his dedication to covering sports for six high schools and Central College, he has spent 38 years covering events at Knoxville Raceway. Bell also operated the Dirt Digest Paper from 1986-1992. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Award by the Iowa Newspaper Ass’n earlier this year.

James “Doug” Brown (Supplier/Owner) Des Moines, Iowa:
In the early 1980’s Brown became involved with his own company, Jocko’s Auto Parts, with stores in Des Moines and Newton. His company began selling parts to local racers and later evolved to Jocko’s Sprint Parts. He became a car owner and supplied the car for Dennis Moore Jr., who would drive their car to victory in the 360 Knoxville Nationals in 2003. The Jocko’s sprint parts trailer can be found in our infield still today.

Jake Peters (Driver) Sioux Falls, S.D.:
Peters had a successful driving career winning three 360 Championships (2004-2005-2006) at Knoxville along with ten 360 feature wins. He also won multiple track championships at Huset’s Speedway. Over 100 sprint car wins over a span of 20 years of competing in seven different states.

Gary “Wally” Price (Track Official) Newton, Iowa:
Starting as a race fan in the early 1970’s, Price was asked one night in 1978 to drive a pace vehicle. That first night he drove his own 1972 Chevelle and has since been behind the wheel of the Knoxville Raceway pace vehicle for 42 seasons. His dedication and help with numerous other duties on race day are immeasurable.

The annual induction banquet will be held at Noon on June 22 in Dyer-Hudson Hall for all current Hall of Fame members and guests, with a picnic style lunch served at a cost of $5 per person. Call the ticket office to order tickets at 641-842-5431.