Knoxville Hands Out $250,000 In Awards


ALTOONA, Iowa — Knoxville Raceway officials handed out more than $250,000 in cash and contingencies at the track’s annual banquet Saturday at the Prairie Meadows Racetrack and Casino.

A total of eight chassis giveaways highlighted a contingency package which every driver in the points benefited (see prize list with winners below). In addition, the Knoxville Raceway Charitable Organization (KRCO) again provided insurance covering all Knoxville drivers for 2013 anywhere they may race plus a gift certificate from Simpson.

In addition, the KRCO will provide mandated front axle tethers for drivers in 2014.

General Manager, Brian Stickel opened the awards program up with a few announcements for 2014. Youth up to seniors in high school will be admitted free of charge again for four events.  The big announcement included a deal with MavTV to broadcast 16 to 20 30-minute shows featuring Knoxville Raceway events next season.

Drivers and owners outside of the top five in each of the three respective classes received their accolades.

The “Jr. Fan Club Drivers of the Year” were announced.  Dustin Selvage (410), Joe Beaver (36) and Mitchell Alexander (305) won in each class.  Young fan, Angel Bingham was honored as the “Jr. Fan Club Member of the Year”.

Marion County Fair Board Member, Grant Rankin, presented the “Fan of the Year Award” to longtime Knoxville Raceway supporters Galen and Sherri Palmer.
On behalf of the safety crew, Mark Worrall presented a “Special Recognition Award” to Randy Brisel who served on the crew for 40 years before retiring this season. Brisel received a standing ovation.

Race Director John McCoy presented “Owner of the Year” Awards to the Bruce and Matt Stephenson No. 55 (305), the Boyd and Glenda Fluth No. 40 (360) and the Brett Nehring No. 18 (410).

“Team of the Year” Awards went to the L&J Enterprise No. 5j team (305), the Beaver Motorsports No. 53 team (360) and the Maeschen Motorsports No. 96 team (410).

Bob Baker, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum Executive Director, presented the “Heritage Award” to longtime sprint car contributor Bob Dyer.
The “Lyle Boyd Hard Charger Award” awards the drivers who passed the most cars in A main events this season. Larry Ball Jr. received the award in the 305 class, with Russ Hall (360) Tasker Phillips (410).

Bryan Sundby of BDS Motorsports was named the “Sportsman of the Year” in the 410 class, while the Clint Garner team picked up the honor in the 360 class. The Kinder Racing team won the award in the 305 class based on their donations to tornado victims in Oklahoma.

Mike Mayberry (305), Zach Blurton (360), and Garrett Dollansky (410) were named “Rookie of the Year” in their respective classes.
The big hardware went out last to the top five drivers and owners in the point standings. In the 305 class: Mike Mayberry (5th), Steve Breazeale (4th), Matt Stephenson (3rd), J Kinder (2nd) and Larry Ball Jr. (champion) were honored in the driver category, while Mayberry (5th), Denny Vrban (4th), Stephenson (3rd), Kinder Racing (2nd), and L&J Enterprise (champion) received their owner awards.

In the 360 class: Jon Agan (5th), Jamie Ball (4th), Nate Van Haaften (3rd), Joe Beaver (2nd) and Clint Garner (champion) were honored in the driver category, while Agan Motorsports (5th), L&J Enterprise (4th), Van Haaften Racing (3rd), Beaver Motorporst (2nd) and Boyd and Glenda Fluth (champion) received owner awards. In the 410 class: Dusty Zomer (5th), Davey Heskin (4th), Terry McCarl (3rd), Ian Madsen (2nd) and Bronson Maeschen (champion) were drivers honored, while owner awards went to Derek Ingalls/Jeff Woodruff (5th), Conrad Maxwell (4th), TMAC Motorsports (3rd), Brett Nehring (2nd) and Maeschen Motorsports (champion).