Kay Stays Hot At Davenport


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Justin Kay continued his reign over the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model division at the Davenport Speedway.

Friday, Kay captured his sixth win of the point season and fifth in the last six races.

He started the 25-lap feature in tenth and was up to third by the end of lap four. Chuck Hanna started on the outside pole and used the high side to get out to an early lead. Kay used the bottom groove to run Hanna down and take the lead for good on lap 13.
Joe Zrostlik passed Hanna in lapped traffic to finish second. Hanna held on for third with Todd Malmstrom and Nate Bueseling completing the top five.

In Milan Heating and Air IMCA Modified action, Bob Dominacki took home his first point win of the season. Joe Beal finished second with Mitch Morris third. Matt Werner and Doug Crampton were fourth and fifth respectively.
Crampton, Werner, and Dominacki were modified heat winners. Todd Dykema won the semi.

The wildest finish of the evening came in the Koehler Electric Street Stock main. A restart with two laps to go provided the excitement. Three different drivers held the lead in those two laps, with Cord Williams taking his first win of the season. Nick Claussen, who led at the white flag, finished second. Andrew Burk finished third, followed by Kevin Schloemer and Rick Schriner.

Bryce Garnhart returned to victory lane in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod feature. The win was Garnhart’s third of the season, but just his first since May. Garnhart took the lead from Jake Morris on a lap ten restart. Dustin Crear came from ninth starting spot to finish second. Doug Burkhead, Henry Carson, and Ricky Kay rounded out the top five, in that order.

The Dahl brothers dominated the Roto-Rooter 4-Stock main. Brandon Dahl vaulted into the lead on lap two. His only serious challenge came from his brother Zach, who was able to lead a lap, before Brandon regained the top spot. Brandon collected his fourth win of the season with Zach finishing second. Andy Loy finished third, followed by Jake Benischek and Eric Stogdell.

The added attraction for the evening was the Midwest Jalopies. The vintage racing coupes put on another great show, with Terry Mattly taking the feature win. Second went to Dennis Blunt and third to Rodney Haack.

The finish:

Justin Kay; Joe Zrostlik; Chuck Hanna;  Todd Malmstrom; Nate Bueseling;. Marty Diercks; LeRoy Brenner; Mike Zemo Jr.; Brunson Behning; Travis Denning;  Shaune Lewis; Gary Webb; Matt Ryan; Duane Christisen; Jason Pestka; DJ Burke; Ryan Claeys