Justin Kay Tops Davenport Opener


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Good weather and a good field of race cars were on hand Friday for the Koehler Electric Season Opener at Davenport Speedway.

Justin Kay continued his dominance in the Petersen Plumbing and Heating IMCA Late Model class. The 25-lap feature got off to a rocky start as Andy Nezworski slow-rolled his car in turn four with some help. Nezworski was able to walk away from the incident.

When the race was restarted, Mike Zemo Jr. jumped out to the lead. On lap six, Zemo had a little trouble navigating turn four and Justin Kay slid into the top spot. Kay had started fourth, but led the last 20 laps en route to the checkers.

Mike Murphy Jr. worked his way from a fifth row start to finish second. Matt Ryan finished third with Todd Malmstrom fourth. Zemo recovered from a mid-race caution to finish fifth.

Doug Crampton started the season out right with a win in the Milan Heating & Air IMCA Modifed feature. Jason Bahrs led the first 14 laps before his car suddenly slowed, giving Crampton the lead. Crampton led the last six laps and captured the win.

Joe Beal started 10th but would finish in the runner-up spot. Kelly Meyer ran in the top five the entire race and finished third. Tony VonDresky made a late race charge to fourth, while Mitch Morris took fifth.

Twenty-seven modifieds were in the pits for the season opener. Morris, Bahrs, and Beal won the heats, while Jake Bowman and Chris Lawrence won the consi’s.

Perry Gellerstedt was perfect on the evening in the Koehler Electric Street Stocks, winning both the heat and feature races. Kevin Dickey led the first seven laps of the feature before letting Donnie Louck get by for the lead. Louck’s lead would be short-lived as Gellerstedt was determined to take home the first trophy of the point season. Louck had to settle for second, with Dickey third. Chad Coyne and Rick Schriner were fourth and fifth respectively.

Tyler Soppe picked up the win in the Hawkeye Auto IMCA SportMod main. Soppe took the lead from Jake Montoya on lap four and never looked back. That was good, because five cautions in the last five laps would scramble every position in the field, except for the leader. Mike McGarry emerged with second place finish. McGarry was followed by Joe Grant, Jake Morris, and Andre LaPorte, in that order.

Brandon Dahl captured the win in the Roto-Rooter 4-Stocks. Dahl grabbed the lead on lap two and led the rest of the way to the checkers. Andy Loy would finish second, with Jake Benischek third. A late surge gave Andrew Fitzgerald fourth, while Andy Wagener completed the top five.