Kay Is IMCA Late Model Ace At Maquoketa


MAQUOKETA, Iowa – Justin Kay revved his motor during the pace laps in perfect tune, then hit his marks and dominated the 50-lap Deery Brothers Summer Series IMCA late model feature Saturday at Maquoketa Speedway.

“Driving the low side the car really handled,” Kay said in victory lane. “We found the lane around the bottom and went with it.”

The finale went green for 47 laps before the race’s only caution flew for a spun out Darrell DeFrance, who kept his string of competing at all Deery Brothers series event intact, now at 481 over 32 years.

Kay started third and took the lead from pole sitter Terry Neal early in the run, but did not want to see the caution.

“When you have guys like Terry Neal and Jeremiah (Hurst) back there you want to have some distance because they’re fast,” Kay added. “I was in a rhythm and able to roll through (turns) three and four so, no, I didn’t want it.”

Kay’s win was the second straight to open this season and his 26th career series triumph, which moved him into a tie with Mark Burgtorf and Curt Martin for third on the all-time list.

Martin won a heat, started second and finished seventh in this one.

Neal, looking for a leading fifth Maquoketa series win, finished second. Hurst, Cayden Carter and Ryan Dolan rounded out the top five.

In other action, there was no stopping Bryce Garnhart on the high-banked, three-eighths-mile dirt oval.

Garnhart rolled to the green seventh, dropped back to 10th early, but found the way to victory lane for the third straight week in the QCJeeps.com IMCA modifieds.

After battling through traffic using the high line, Garnhart overtook race long leader Jordy Hicks after a late caution to win the 20 lapper. Tyler Madigan, Matt Short and Steve Johnson followed.

Jarrett Franzen raced by early leader Austin Heacock and scored a popular 15-lap B&D Pit Stop IMCA SportMod win. He became the third different winner in a row to start the season.

Last week’s winner Tyler Soppe, Brandon Setser and opening winner Keith Blum were next.

Kile Vohringer stayed low as the surface dried and walked off with the IMCA Hobby Stock 12-lap finale, while defending track champion Brett Marshall finally broke through for his first Obie’s Restaurant/B&C Liquor 4 Cylinder feature victory of the year.

The INEX Legend Car “Racing for a Cause” Series also visited the famed facility. Late model pilot Jason Utter sped away with the 20-lap win.

The race was red flagged when Tim Fredricks hit a marking tire and rolled in turn two. He was not injured.

The finish:

Justin Kay, Terry Neal, Jeremiah Hurst, Cayden Carter, Ryan Dolan, Chad Holladay, Curt Martin, Joel Callahan, Chuck Hanna, Andy Eckrich, Jeff Tharp, Joe Zrostlik, Matt Ryan, Nick Marolf, Jon Poll, Don Pataska, Todd Cooney, Kyle Hinrichs, Sam Halstead, Andy Nezworski, Darrel DeFrance, Joe Ross, Luke Pestka, Denny Eckrich.