Johnson Masters Dodge City Field

J.D. Johnson in victory lane at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park after winning Friday's United Rebel Sprint Series feature. (TWC Photo)
J.D. Johnson in victory lane at Dodge City (Kan.) Raceway Park after winning Friday’s United Rebel Sprint Series feature. (TWC Photo)

DODGE CITY, Kan. – It was all Goddard, Kan., shoe J.D. Johnson in the 25-lap United Rebel Sprint Series feature that capped Friday’s Fire & Safety / EMS Appreciation Night at Dodge City Raceway Park as he led the final 23 rounds en route to his first series win of the year.

While Johnson drove to victory lane after a late bid from Brian Herbert, Troy Gemmill picked up IMCA Modified honors, Austin Walker nabbed another United Wireless IMCA Sport Modified triumph and Michael Pepper bested the IMCA Stock Car ranks.

Starting the URSS feature outside the second row, Johnson battled past front row outside starter Kris Miller to take command by the third round with third-row starters Brian Herbert and Jake Bubak making their way into second and third, respectively, by the seventh round.

Herbert tried to mount a challenge for the point when action resumed following a red flag after 18 laps. Johnson fought off the bid and raced on to the checkered flag as 13th-starter Luke Cranston nipped Herbert at the line for runner-up honors.

Bubak was fourth, was C.J. Johnson edging Zac Taylor at the line to round out the top five. Steven Richardson raced from 17th to seventh, with Tyler Knight, Jared Kern and Keefe Hemel completing the top ten.

The URSS feature was interrupted by a pair of cautions in the initial dozen circuits as Jordan Weaver got into the turn four wall after six laps and points leader Ray Seemann came to a stop with a broken front end after 11 rounds.

The red flag flew after 18 laps when Richie Dewell got upside down in turn two in an incident that sidelined June 29 DCRP winner Taylor Velasquez as well while battling for position among the top five.

Under that red flag, Jason Martin was forced pitside with overheating issues after rallying from 12th to third.

Kris Miller, Velasquez, Johnson and Seemann topped heat race action for the 29-car URSS field with Jordan Weaver and Jason Martin winning the “B” Mains.

Previous articleJimmy Owens Gets Back On Track
Next articleBorrowed Car Wins For Chandler is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.