It’s Mills Again In Marshalltown Frostbuster


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa — After being off since September the Marshalltown Speedway returned with the annual Frostbuster with a little over 190 cars signed in to do battle from 10 different states and one Canadian province.

Luke Wanninger jumped to the early race in the IMCA Modified 30-lap feature and appeared to be pulling away but just before the halfway point lap traffic would get in the way that would slow him down. This would allow Jeremy Mills chase Wanninger down and make some contact. Jay Noteboom was coming though as he chased down Wanninger and Mills.

Wanninger and Mills would make slight contact as they were racing in lap traffic and shortly after the only race caution came out on lap 24 when Zach Rawlins and Jon Snyder would get together in turn four.

Officials quickly noticed that Wanninger’s left-rear tire was flat and that forced him to the pits. Mills would inherit the lead with six laps to go with Jay Noteboom and Racer Hulin right behind.

Mills would hold off Noteboom to take the win, his second Frostbuster win in as many nights and first win at Marshalltown. Noteboom started ninth would finish second. Todd Shute started 18th and finished third. Hunter Marriott finished fourth and rookie Racer Hulin was fifth.

After having one car spin out in turn two, the IMCA Stock Car feature went 20 laps green-to-checkered. Todd Reitzler led lap one, but it was Steve Meyer taking the lead away on lap two and not look back. Meyer took the win with John Heinz taking second from Reitzler with a few laps to go. Damon Murty was fourth and Michael Jaennette was fifth.

Ty Luellen topped the Sport Mod feature and Nick Murty won the hobby stock race.