Hitt Pockets $2,000 At Davenport


DAVENPORT, Iowa – Aaron Hitt is $2,000 richer after his win in the 4-Stock 50 at Davenport Speedway Friday evening.

The event marked the return of racing action to the racetrack after a two week break for the Mississippi Valley Fair.

Hitt started the 50-lapper on the outside pole and shot out to the early lead. Hitt held a comfortable lead until the caution flag flew with 34 laps complete.

Hitt led one lap after the restart, before giving way to Steve Miedke. Miedke led laps 36 through 48, while Hitt used a slightly higher line, gaining back ground on the leader.

The two leaders were side-by-side the final two laps, with third place Mike Morrow close behind.

Hitt had a little more momentum coming out of turn four on the final lap and won by about a foot and a half. Miedke, who had to qualify through the semi-feature, would have to settle for second. Morrow finished third, with 15th place starter Joe Zrostlik taking fourth. Zach Dahl rounded out the top five.

Forty 4-Stocks were on hand for the event. Heat race wins went to Steven Phillips, Mitch Bielenberg, Tristin Clark, and Jake Montoya. Semi-features were won by Miedke and Gene Potter.

Andy Nezworski dominated the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA late-model feature. Nezworski rocketed out in front and used the low groove to cruise to the win.

A handful of drivers held the second spot throughout the race, with the position going to Matt Ryan at the finish. Justin Kay finished third, just ahead of Doug Nigh. Ray Guss Jr., took fifth.

With the season winding down the racing was intense in the EMS IMCA Modified feature. At the midway point, race leader Jake Bowman was in a battle for the lead, with Matt Stein and Thad Wilson.

On lap 14 the caution came out as Wilson and Bowman made contact, with Bowman spinning out in front of the flagstand. Both drivers were sent to the rear. On the following lap, Bowman returned the favor, sending Wilson spinning into the infield.

Stein stayed clear of the first incident and would lead the remaining laps to score his first victory of the season at Davenport. Mitch Morris moved in to finish a close second. Doug Crampton finished third, with Dean McGee fourth and Tony VonDresky fifth.

Emily Gade captured her second feature win on the season in the Koehler Electric Street Stock main. Emily took the lead from Bryan Ritter on lap seven of the 15-lapper and held on to take the win. Jeremy Marquette finished second with Scott Griffin third. RJ Gonzales and Dwaine Hasson completed the top five.