Heskin Wins, McCarl Champion Again


KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Knoxville Raceway crowned three new champions during its 59th annual Lucas Oil Cup Series Season Championships.

Terry McCarl was a narrow winner in the 410 division and wrapped up his seventh title, one less than the all-time record held by Danny Lasoski. Clint Garner claimed his fourth 360 championship while Matthew Stelzer was crowned as the top dog in the 305 class.

The 410 feature saw Davey Heskin win his third feature of the season in capturing the 25-lap season finale for that division. Heskin led the distance while riding the bottom of the track and gained a payday of $3,500.

A battle raged behind him for the runner-up spot as first Joey Moughan then Justin Henderson and finally Bronson Maeschen held that spot. Finishing in third was Henderson and Mark Dobmeier took fourth after making a lap 19 pass of McCarl. McCarl held that spot to the finish in the fifth spot which was good enough to give him the 2012 track title.

In the 360 feature event, 2012 track champion Clint Garner roared out to the lead after gaining that spot on lap four and looked to be on his way to a win. Suddenly from the fourth row substitute driver Dusty Zomer roared into contention after a number of yellow flag events slowed the opening laps. Just after the halfway point he made a pass of second place Randy Martin who had just taken that spot from Ryan Anderson who went up in smoke exiting the race at that point.

Two laps later Zomer made a pass of leader Garner as they exited turn two. Zomer then went on to claim the $1,500-to-win event and only his second feature win in that division.

Winning the 305 season finale was Larry Ball Jr. He overtook race leader Bart Friedrichsen on a lap nine restart. Trailing him to the finish line were Friedrichsen, Mathew Stelzer, Mike Van Haaften and Matt Stevenson.